Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

RWBY: Combat Ready» Forums » Rules

Subject: (!) Abilities and non-combat objectives rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Pep Mañas
Spain
Palma de Mallorca
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello there, after our first play, having lots of fun, we actually argued about the (!) Abilities in cards when they where played to advance non-combat objectives such as defuse the bomb.

We went with "it's not a combat so you do not get the bonus" since in the rulebook you can read that "(!) Abilities take place inmediately and before combat".

But on the other side, those objectives tend to ask for an attack card to be played (there for you could argue you are actually attacking), and some cards effects (such as bonus to speed or damage) would actually make a lot of sense if they were applied.

So which one is it?
Do (!) Abilities ALWAYS take efect when you play the card (except from assist action)

Or do (!) Abilities only take effect when played in an attack (be it boss, sub-boss or minion)?

Thanks a lot!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alan Castree
Japan
Osaka
Osaka
flag msg tools
ACGalaga.com
badge
What da heck?!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Definintly a fun game!

The Card's attack effects are ignored unless they're targeting a specific Enemy. For non combat objectives you're only using the speed.

Not sure if it's clear in the book but the designer answered that question here: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/30466172#30466172

Still have to update it but be sure to check the FAQ if you have any other questions: https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/2096192/rwby-combat-ready-f...
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pep Mañas
Spain
Palma de Mallorca
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ouch, looked for it in different posts but didn't find it, thanks!

Glad we played the right way
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.