Orbis» Forums » General

Subject: Farms OP? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dan Smith
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmb
Keep in mind this is my opinion after 1 play. And I know everyone always assumes people asking questions are complete noobs at boardgames. So know that I am not a complete noob at boardgames.

Farms, are the hexes that give the reduction token. Once you have it, you no longer pay for any costs of your token's color. So if you have a blue farm and a hex costs two blue cubes and a white cube. it only costs you a white cube.

There is one way to get the Lvl 1 farm on your first turn, and one way to get it on your second turn.

-To get it on your first turn, you must be the third or fourth player, and at least two players must get a tile adjacent to it that matches its cost exactly. Then you can grab it for free. It would be pretty dumb to do that, but if it happens, they asked for it.

-The second option, if you are not playing with altruistic opponents, is to grab the goddess of love on your first turn. Which grants you five cubes of the color of your choice. Then buy it on your next turn.

In the game I played, the second player did option #2. My problem is that the farms doesn't just reduce the colored cost. It negates it completely. Meaning that player will never have to pay ANY red cost again for the rest of the game. That player also happened to have the green farm be revealed on her turn. So she bought it as well.

Here are my beefs with farms.

1. The discount given is too big, for something that you can get as your first tiles.

2. I think it was bad design that the green farm requires red to purchase. Meaning that whoever got the red farm gets the green one at a discount. Making it harder for other players to get on even footing.