Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Gloomhaven» Forums » Rules

Subject: Pushing monsters without attacking them rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jacko Lantern
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
A monster is severely hurt and I’d like to push it onto a trap which will kill it. I want to use the monster to spring the trap. The card I have lists Attack+3 and Push2 as its actions. But normally Push is done following an attack, and the attack damage is evaluated first (which would kill the monster before I can use it to spring the trap). So, can I choose not to attack the monster but only to push it?

Also, for the purposes of battle objectives, does making a monster die by pushing it onto a trap count towards the number of monsters I’ve killed?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
wojciech slusarczyk
Poland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You can not only use push from the attack and omit damaging part. So hope to pull miss from your attack deck.

Moving monster into a trap counts as your kill.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bruno Guedes
Portugal
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
It depends on the card and this is not explicit in the rules.
This was already discussed here https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1888627/relationship-betwee...

Also,
Quote:
Kill credit goes to whomever caused the damage that caused the death.

The answer to your second question is yes
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jacko Lantern
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Thanks, both of you!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thor A
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Follow up to this, if I’m adjacent to two monsters, can I attack one and push the second?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Spirio
Austria
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
mjolnir76 wrote:
Follow up to this, if I’m adjacent to two monsters, can I attack one and push the second?


No, it’s an addition to the attack, so it targets the same the attack targeted
You wouldn’t try to attack an enemy, but give the wound the guy next to him?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Oedipussy Rex
msg tools
Jack Spirio wrote:
You wouldn’t try to attack an enemy, but give the wound the guy next to him?


Well, I'd try...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ricktor Black
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Nishikigoi wrote:
It depends on the card and this is not explicit in the rules.
This was already discussed here https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1888627/relationship-betwee...

Also,
Quote:
Kill credit goes to whomever caused the damage that caused the death.

The answer to your second question is yes


Thanks for that link, that actually explained it in a very clear way I hadn't heard before. After playing it for months... I'm still learning things. I may have screwed that up int he past, but now I get it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.