There are three (3) Raven Warriors, one (1) Serpent Warrior and a Raven-controlled monster (the Troll) occupying the Province of Gimle. On the Raven Player's turn (which immediately follows the Serpent player's turn), the Raven player announces that he wishes to pillage this province. The Serpent Warrior - who moved here on an earlier turn in order to 'maintain a presence' in the region - does not wish to participate in the pillage but according to the rulebook (p. 17), ". . . all figures in the province being pillaged . . . must participate in [the battle]."
Is the Serpent player able to now move his warrior out of Gimle and into the adjacent province of Myrkulor in order to avoid getting crushed in the upcoming battle? The Serpent player says he should be able to do so (in much the same way that players are able to move into a province for free in response to a Call to Battle) but the rest of our group doesn't think he should be allowed to do so . . .