Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Fourth Quarter Football» Forums » Rules

Subject: LOS placement? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Adel Port
msg tools
This is from the pre-game preparation on page 14.

"Place the down flag on the side-line in line with the receiving team's 25 yard line square. Place the first down flag three squares towards the defense's end zone"

That would be 15 yards for a first down, is that intended or a typo? And then on page 17 if the offense didn't score but converted for a 1st down...

"Place the first down marker 2 squares from the LOS marker."

Also, when a player is tackled, do you mark the new LOS at the front or the back of the row in which they were tackled?

"Move the LOS flag to the horizontal row where that player was tackled."
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fourth Quarter Miniatures
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
The flag means you have to move more than ten yards to get a first down and stops the los marker and the flag to reach don’t end up on the same square.
The los is placed where the tackle was made.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adel Port
msg tools
So I'm still a little confused.

What I'm asking is why in the pregame prep does it have the receiving team start with a 1st down and 15 yards to go and then upon converting a first down it's then 1st and 10? Shouldn't the pregame setup start with a 1st and 10?

Pregame setup:
"Place the first down flag three squares (15 yards) towards the defense's end zone"

Converting for a 1st down:
"Place the first down marker 2 squares (10 yards) from the LOS marker."
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Robinson
United Kingdom
Hove
Unspecified
flag msg tools
This is a little confusing as written however ultimately each square on the board represents 5 yards.

After kick off the centre lines up in the square shown and to achieve a first down the ball must pass the second most square away, I.e. it must travel three squares from the starting square of the centre to be a first down. Or less of course on second and later downs if a first down is not gained on first down. If it goes just two squares then it would be inches short of a first down.

We line the flags up on the white lines on the sideline with two full squares between them.

This is what the rules really mean.

They do not mean to suggest a first and 15 on first play.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.