Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Arkham Horror (Third Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Anomaly encounter. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
brian sacco
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The temporal fissure card says if you pass the test "Remove two doom from your space and gain one remnant." Is that just a reminder to gain a remnant? Or am I supposed to get an extra one? Im assuming just the one.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Frac
Italy
flag msg tools
You get one single remnant because of the card text.
You did not make a ward action to get a second one.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You are probably misinterpreting what happens when you ward two or more doom at once. That is a property of the ward action and does not apply when you aren't using a ward action. The rule is:

AH3 RR wrote:
494.3 If you remove two or more doom as part of a ward
action, you gain one remnant.


Resolving an anomaly encounter is not a ward action, but it just happens to still grant you a remnant in most (possibly all) cases where you remove two or more doom. There is no 'additional' remnant to gain as it is not due to a ward action.

Similarly, if you kill a monster that has the remnant icon without taking an attack action (e.g., using Michal McGlen's Ol' Boiler), you do not get a remnant for killing it. Remnants from the icon are only given when a monster is defeated during an attack action.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian sacco
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thats exactly what I did, thank you!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.