Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

The Great War: Tank Expansion» Forums » Rules

Subject: Tank units with an Engineer SPF rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mark McG
Australia
Penshurst
NSW
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Does the Tank unit roll for SPF loss, and if so, for each hit, or each confirmed hit?

I'm guessing not, but it isn't clear.

Does it make any difference if the tank unit is bogged?

If the tank unit ditches, what happens to the Engineer?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Read the rulebook, plan for all contingencies, and…read the rulebook again.
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
By the SPF rules (p.9, TGW:FE), the roll for SPF loss is made when the unit loses one or more figures. A tank is a battlefield unit composed of a single model (p.8, TGW:TE). I think that comes down to meaning there’s never a roll for Engineer SPF loss for a tank because the unit has only one model. Once lost, the Engineer goes with it.

If it were any other way, I’d suggest a SPF loss roll when a tank takes a confirmed hit that doesn’t eliminate the tank unit. (Rolling an extra die for a confirmed hit on a bogged tank addressed that consideration.) That all runs counter to the letter of the rules but perhaps not their spirit.

The SPF rules also say that SPFs are not transferable to any other unit. So if a tank is ditched, I’d rule that the Engineer attached to it is removed from play. (For that reason, I think allowing an Engineer to leave a ditched tank for another unit opens up a can of worms. But anything a table of opponents can agree on about it is up them!)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Snow
United States
New York City
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Agree, but I did list it on the Expansion #2 FAQ thread.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.