Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Burning Rome» Forums » Rules

Subject: Retreat/Return rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Rasmus Wichmann
Denmark
flag msg tools
We have been a bit confused about how "Return" (or "Retreat") works.

As far as we can tell, "retreat" is an ability that is triggered when you return a card to your hand. But...

1) Can you return any card, or does it have to be the card on top?
2) Can you return a card in the same round you played it?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Emil Larsen
Denmark
Faxe
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Retreat is a broad term referring to all actions/terms where a unit is leaving the battlefield (return and/or discard).

Ref: How to Play, page 9 - "(retreat) The ability is executed when a Unit leaves the battlefield. It may be returned to the player’s hand or discarded to the bottom of the army deck, both instances count as a retreat."

1) Any card, but it'll often be limited/restricted by the text on the card/ability (e.g. Close Quarter Ambush: Return 1 enemy non-cavalry unit with a cost of 3 CP or less.).

Remember these restrictions might limit your options, since there might be stats on a card you can no longer see.

Ref: How to Play, page 15 - "When you play a unit on top of/supporting another unit, you automatically block out abilities, plus you block out the skirmish value, siege value and CP cost of the supported card. These values can no longer be interacted with, as you can only interact with visible numbers."

2) No restriction in this matter.

Hope that helps
Best regards Emil
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.