Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dave Sanborn
United States
South Berwick
ME
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
So, I’ve been casually aware of Blood Bowl for decades as, ‘A Games Workship money pit/addiction that you should stay away from.’ And until I saw Blitz Bowl on the shelves, I’d succeeded in doing just that.

But my son and I have been playing Battleball for a few years, and the itch for something slightly more complex was there, so I got him Blitz Bowl for Christmas.

Last night we got around to open boxing it... and I proceeded to spend a few hours getting my fingers covered in super glue and getting jabbed by sharp Orky bits. A miniatures artiste I ain’t.

We have yet to play, but I’m already thinking about the agony/ecstasy of expanding to new teams, and I have questions.

1.) Is it GW’s notion that I buy a full Blood Bowl team set, even though I just need six miniatures for Blitz Bowl?

2.) I’ve seen some third party companies that sell their own BB-inspired minis, but most of them appear to be UK-based. Are there any similar US companies?

3.) I really like the idea of NOT painting the minis, but also like how the base set minis are color-coded. Does anyone know of any on-demand, 3D-printable team sets where I could choose the plastic color (on Shapeways, or a similar 3D-printing marketplace)?

4.) I’ve read... horror stories about the complexity of the GW Elven Union set (my base set orcs & humans had three pieces each; the elven set sounds like six or seven pieces per player). If I didn’t particularly enjoy putting together the base set minis, should I steer clear? And are there easier options, if I still want elves?

Thanks for any advice you can offer. The through-line is that I want to add new teams cheaply and with as little time/effort in putting together the models as I can.

Regards,
Corporate Dog
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Montgomery
United States
Joliet
Illinois
flag msg tools