BoardGameGeek» Forums » Gaming Related » General Gaming

Subject: Traveling with boardgames rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Klara
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Since we own a few games we are often asked to bring some with us when visiting friends. Normally this wouldn't be a big thing to ask for if we would just take small games, but especially whilst travelling with some of my all time favourites it gets quite a lot to carry.

How do you travel with games with a lot of tiles/meeples etc.? Just in their normal box, even if they somtimes are huge compared to what's inside? Do you have any advice on how to make huge boxes more travelfriendly?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Dettinger
Germany
Gärtringen
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I have never taken my games on a long trip, so I have no experience from the road. But I would try to avoid the big boxes, as you proposed.

- I store small components (meeples, cards, cubes, ...) in little plastic bags anyway, so that's fine
- the minis would stay in their usual casings, to protect them if necessary
- boards are quite easy, just next to each other, using a paper wrapping or something. Together with the rulebooks.

All that would go into a backpack.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pete Laycock
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
I'm interested to see the replies as we'll be heading off on holiday in spring and intend to take a few games with us.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
'Bernard Wingrave'
United States
Wyoming
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
For travel, removing the game insert can allow multiple games to fit in the same box. Or you can just leave the entire box at home and pack only the boards and components in your suitcase, using plastic bags to keep everything together.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
marc lecours
Canada
ottawa
ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
I travel with games to visit my daughter on the other side of the continent about once a year.