Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Nemesis» Forums » Rules

Subject: What happens if all cards in hand are Contamination cards? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bryce K. Nielsen
United States
Elk Ridge
Utah
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In our game last night, the Pilot got quite a free Contamination cards (she foolishly decided up punch her way out of a room), so that she eventually had a hand with five Contamination cards and no Action cards. When that happens, is there anything she can do but sit there? She can't get rid of the cards in her hand, she can't rest, she can't use the surgery room (needs two actions for that), and no one can help her.

We ended up house ruling that the antidote can be used on you or another player in the same room, and even decided to house rule that room actions can be used on anyone in the room (not just yourself) so if the Pilot could hobble with one card to the room, someone else could perform the surgery. But by RAW, she's screwed isn't she? So contaminated she just sits in a corner drooling...

-shnar
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Buckley
United Kingdom
Abingdon
Oxfordshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb


You can always discard cards at the end of your turn, sorry, Round. That includes contamination cards.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ron Gilbert
United States
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmb
All you can do is pass at that point. (and when you pass you can discard any cards in hand - even contamination cards)
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michał Misztal
Poland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
The player has to pass. When passing, they can discard any number of cards from their hand, including Contamination (p. 10, end of "Player Rounds" paragraph).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marcio Ferreira
Portugal
Viana do Castelo
flag msg tools
_lo-ol_
Avatar
mbmbmb
shnar wrote:
(...), and no one can help her.


As you said, it was foolish... she should have tried to Escape.
But... whatever... it's for the experience, and the sweet spot about games is that you can do the most dangerous move without the risk of real damage.

Anyhow, actually the Captain, if in play, could have given an order... aside from this, you're right, so, sit tight and relax while your friend gets knocked by the Aliens... err... Intruders
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryce K. Nielsen
United States
Elk Ridge
Utah
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hm, I wish the rules were a bit more clear on that. Many sections that talk about Action Cards make a distinction between Action and Contamination cards (for example, Encounter section on page states, "4) Compare the number on the Intruder token with the number of cards in the player’s hand (Action and Contamination cards are counted)."). Also, page 13 says "[Contamination cards] cannot be discarded from your hand" so we thought that meant permanently (granted, the rest of the sentence says, "to
pay any Action Cost." but we overlooked that when quickly glossing through the rulebook).

Anyways, thanks, we'll play it better next time

-shnar
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryce K. Nielsen
United States
Elk Ridge
Utah
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
goryon wrote:
shnar wrote:
(...), and no one can help her.


As you said, it was foolish... she should have tried to Escape.
But... whatever... it's for the experience, and the sweet spot about games is that you can do the most dangerous move without the risk of real damage.

Anyhow, actually the Captain, if in play, could have given an order... aside from this, you're right, so, sit tight and relax while your friend gets knocked by the Aliens... err... Intruders

Yeah, but each other room had Intruders so she felt trapped (even though she could have escaped from them too) and since they were in the Armory, she felt she could punch her way through, fill up on ammo, and be good. Ironically, she got 4 wounds on the Adult, but never did end up killing it...

-shnar
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.