BoardGameGeek» Forums » Gaming Related » General Gaming

Subject: How has your tastes in board games changed over time? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mr Morin
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Just a general question as I am fairly new to board games and have found the most I discover the more I am learning and developing my ideas of the games I enjoy playing.

I went from Catan, to Scythe, to gloomhaven, and then finally twilight imperium 4th in my first year of board games.

I find that my growing interest in board games has brought me to games I never knew existed.

Please share your own journey, I would love to learn about other interesting games and how you got there!

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick Stables
Australia
Lawson
NSW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I played Catan and 6 nimmt in '96 which reignited my interest in boardgames (I played Cosmic Encounter and Risk in my teens). Once I migrated to Australia in '97 I introduced my in-laws to these Euro's whilst living with them and I joined a game group when my wife and I moved out.

For the next 15 years or so with being in a game group it was mostly Euro's I played. When another move and having kids meant leaving the group and less time to play externally, I settled into playing solo so my interest changed to accommodate the change in circumstances. I also discovered that Euro's with very little thematic narrative no longer appealed to me as they felt more like efficiency puzzles rather than being humourous and social.

I have come full circle playing with the family, focussing more on having laughs or storytelling, but not at someone else's expense so Catan no longer appeals; I much prefer co-ops, party games etc.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brendan Slade
msg tools
mbmbmb