Popular Tags: root [+] [View All]
Tristan Stevens
Australia
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Root Guide: Chapter 1 –
The Dice, the Board and the Cards.

So this is my first attempt at ever making a strategy guide for a game, and I hardly know what makes me qualified to do so! I will say though that at this stage I've had a decent number of games of Root, both on my own copy of the game and with the excellent folks on the Root Discord (Woodland Warriors, https://discord.gg/wXrGwrD). Still, I wouldn't call myself an expert just yet, so this is what I would say is an “intermediate” guide to Root, with a focus on mainly helping people get into the right mindset for each of the factions.

Which is why for the first part of the guide, I want to focus on none of them at all, instead taking a step back and looking at the few things shared between all factions. For the most part I won't be making huge recommendations on your game play in this section of the guide, as I'll only end up re-iterating them all later when I cover the individual factions. Instead, the intention here is to take a bit of a deeper dive into the mechanics of Root to use as a foundation when going through the factions later.

The Dice

Chances are if you're reading this you already know how the combat system in Root works. If not, it's quite simple, you roll two dice (effectively four sided, actually twelve sided but with only the numbers 0-3 distributed equally) and remove a number of enemy pieces (what is known as a 'hit' in the game's terminology) equal to the result (capped by the number of warriors each player has), with the aggressor (Or the Woodland Alliance) taking the highest result and the defender taking the lowest. This produces some interesting results, which boils down to the few key numbers.

4/16ths of the possible rolls will be even,
6/16ths of the rolls will result in 1 extra hit on the highest dice
4/16ths of the rolls will result in 2 extra hits,