Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Commands & Colors: Ancients» Forums » Rules

Subject: Lone leaders and flags rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Peter Donnelly
Canada
Comox Valley
British Columbia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
In the dice-results table, a flag is shown as affecting a lone leader.

I can't grasp when a retreat would have any relevance to a leader alone in a hex. If he's attacked, he has to evade and can be hit only by leader symbols. Ditto if he finds himself alone in the hex at the end of a combat roll that wipes out his companions -- any flag showing at that point would be irrelevant, as he must immediately evade.

Am I missing something, or is this simply a mistake in the player aid?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Duke
United States
Wynne
Arkansas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Simple answer-- it's a mistake.

In fact, I just checked 2nd edition rules, where it specifically says:

Quote:
Flags rolled against a leader when alone in a hex, have no effect.


Yes, whether Close Combat or Ranged fire, you take your "normal" shot at a lone-leader and if you don't get a helmet, he has to evade.

So that's an error in the reference card.

Here's something to ponder that's the way the rules are written.

I'm close combating a unit with a leader, eliminate the unit and the leader evades...

Quote:
When the attached leader’s unit is eliminated in Close Combat,
the attacking unit may Momentum Advance onto the vacated
hex after the leader Evades out of the hex.


But if I'm close combating a LONE leader...

Quote:
A unit attacking a lone leader in Close Combat may not Momentum
Advance onto the vacated hex after the leader is eliminated
or Evades out of the hex.


There's a poser-- And it has been verified on the most recent FAQ.

Maybe the "shock" of seeing a leader alone in a hex just stuns the attackers so much they can't think about moving into the hex, whether they kill him or not.

Hmmmmm.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Donnelly
Canada
Comox Valley
British Columbia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
I think that's consistent with the rest of the rules, though. You only get momentum from close combat. Leaders who are alone in a hex before combat function like light infantry -- they can always evade, and you can never take momentum if they do.

Thanks for confirming that what I'm seeing is a mistake on the reference card.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Duke
United States
Wynne
Arkansas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Fwiw, your "glitch spotting" occurred just in time to get this error corrected on the reference card going into Rome and the Barbarians.

Nice work!

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.