Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Claustrophobia 1643» Forums » Rules

Subject: "blocked path" tile rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Stefano Trivellato
Italy
Padova
PD
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
played scenario 1.
While placing new tiles, the demonic player can "block" the advance by placing dead end corridors or "blocked path" tiles (the ones with the blocked path just over the tile border)

Is it legit using them that way?
And in that case, does the human player stay on the new tile border or get bumped back on the origin tile he came from?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thilo M.
Germany
Wiesbaden
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
anachron wrote:
played scenario 1.
While placing new tiles, the demonic player can "block" the advance by placing dead end corridors or "blocked path" tiles (the ones with the blocked path just over the tile border)

Is it legit using them that way?
And in that case, does the human player stay on the new tile border or get bumped back on the origin tile he came from?
Not sure I understand. The demonic player has to place the tiles in such a way that the interior can be reached (the middle of the tile). There are some dead end tiles, but these are also turned so you can get inside. The human player is then placed in the new tile.
7 
 Thumb up
5.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stefano Trivellato
Italy
Padova
PD
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
GrandKhan44 wrote:
Not sure I understand. The demonic player has to place the tiles in such a way that the interior can be reached (the middle of the tile). There are some dead end tiles, but these are also turned so you can get inside. The human player is then placed in the new tile.
Thanks. I missed the part that the tile has to be placed for the interior to be reached. So that cuts off all the blocked wall sections that many tiles have (the ones with a half inch corridor with a wall) [see image below, the upper and lower tile part]
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric O. LEBIGOT
France
Versailles
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeah, this is illustrated in Fig. 10 on p. 21 (but the figure is ambiguous: the red cross between the tiles can mean that the tile with the dead end was placed as in the figure, but that the warrior cannot move in the small dead end bit).

However, the main reason for requiring warriors to always be able to move to the center of the new tile is that tiles must be "accessible", and that this concept would be meaningless if dead-ends were considered accessible, as every tile would then be accessible.

The small dead-ends are thus only there to create visually appealing connections with nearby tiles.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls