Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

New Frontiers» Forums » Rules

Subject: Is picking a world in Explore a May or a Must? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Gregory Theriot
United States
Metairie
Louisiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
I am assuming all actions are must unless otherwise specified but just wanted to check if someone can slow down the game end by passing. (The reason I ask is that Settle explicitly forbids passing in the rules but Explore doesn’t seem to
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Sanchez
United States
chaska
MN
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I play that you can not pass on explore. but explore does not trigger end game so there is no reason not to take the explore action.


Build is optional.


Settle as mentioned is not optional.


Not sure why you would not want to produce.


Trade is optional but Consume is not


I think that's all of the actions (bonus only tiles not included)
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gregory Theriot
United States
Metairie
Louisiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Whoops. Misread that. Yeah since it can’t trigger game end you may as well explore. Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
Unless an action or power says "may", then it is "must" (if applicable in the case of powers).

The reason Settle gets extra emphasis in the rules is that some players read a choice ("or") as meaning they can choose to do neither option (which is incorrect).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls