Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
14 Posts

Blackout: Hong Kong» Forums » Rules

Subject: End of game and the Reserve Deck rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Stephen F
United States
North Carolina
flag msg tools
The rulebook says the following on page 15:

Quote:
When the Draw deck runs out, the End of game is triggered. If necessary, fill the remainder of the display with cards from the Reserve deck.
This wording isn't super clear to me. I can interpret this three different ways; please let me know what is correct:

a) Refill the row or rows that were just emptied using cards from the Reserve deck, then return it to the box.

b) Refill the entire display so that it has 9 cards (three rows of three cards each), then return the deck to the box.

c) Refill as with (a), and continue to use the Reserve deck to refill rows that get emptied for the rest of the game.

Thank you!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paulo Renato
Portugal
Vila Nova Gaia
Porto
flag msg tools
I run through Rahdo's Runthroughs and make right what once went wrong (via annotations)
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
TemujinNC wrote:
The rulebook says the following on page 15:

Quote:
When the Draw deck runs out, the End of game is triggered. If necessary, fill the remainder of the display with cards from the Reserve deck.
This wording isn't super clear to me. I can interpret this three different ways; please let me know what is correct:

a) Refill the row or rows that were just emptied using cards from the Reserve deck, then return it to the box.

b) Refill the entire display so that it has 9 cards (three rows of three cards each), then return the deck to the box.

c) Refill as with (a), and continue to use the Reserve deck to refill rows that get emptied for the rest of the game.

Thank you!
It's C
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Oliver Dienz
United States
Shelburne
Vermont
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Muse23PT wrote:
TemujinNC wrote:
The rulebook says the following on page 15:

Quote:
When the Draw deck runs out, the End of game is triggered. If necessary, fill the remainder of the display with cards from the Reserve deck.
This wording isn't super clear to me. I can interpret this three different ways; please let me know what is correct:

a) Refill the row or rows that were just emptied using cards from the Reserve deck, then return it to the box.

b) Refill the entire display so that it has 9 cards (three rows of three cards each), then return the deck to the box.

c) Refill as with (a), and continue to use the Reserve deck to refill rows that get emptied for the rest of the game.

Thank you!
It's C
Yep, and be aware that no one will be buying more cards in the last round so refilling rows during the waste (phase 6) in the penultimate round is rather pointless.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mister mystery
msg tools
mbmb
I dont get the reason for this exta deck/cards at all, is this an artifact from Mombasa where card buying in the last round due to shares makes sense?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alexander Pfister
msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
If the deck runs out, you still might want to buy cards, because the game last another complete round. So the game does not end in the round, when the decks runs out, but in the next round.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike P
Australia
Bunbury
Western Australia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
AlexP wrote:
If the deck runs out, you still might want to buy cards, because the game last another complete round. So the game does not end in the round, when the decks runs out, but in the next round.
I just want to make sure that we're playing this correctly.

There's no reason to buy objective cards during the new objectives phase in the final round, right? You'll never get a chance to complete them.

By the way -- my wife and I absolutely adore your games. Great Western Trail is a special favourite.

Mike
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Oliver Dienz
United States
Shelburne
Vermont
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
nemspy wrote:

There's no reason to buy objective cards during the new objectives phase in the final round, right? You'll never get a chance to complete them.
Correct. Better to keep the money as that can be converted into VP.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Franz Kafka
United States
St. Charles
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
nemspy wrote:
There's no reason to buy objective cards during the new objectives phase in the final round, right? You'll never get a chance to complete them.
Some of the cards might be specialists, which will be worth VPs at the end of the game.
Edit: I see the error of my ways. They’re not worth points until you complete them.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
SIMONE COLOMBO
Italy
Genova
GE
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
AlexP wrote:
If the deck runs out, you still might want to buy cards, because the game last another complete round. So the game does not end in the round, when the decks runs out, but in the next round.

Sorry Alexander, but I still don't get it right. When the deck runs out is when everybody has taken his new objective card, after the cleaning phase correct? Then do we have to play the next round where we can complete some more of the old objectives plus another full round when we can fulfill some of the ones taken from the reserve, or does the game end after the first full round after the refill? Because in this second case, the refill done when the end game was triggered was totally wasted, since we had no time/no need to buy those last cards. I hope I was clear explaining my doubt. Can you help me? Thanks so much
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michele Bricchi
Germany
munich
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Basically you have one full round after the end of the current round where the deck runs out. You need a side-deck because you need to refill the cards to be bought in case the row is depleted in the round where the end-game condition is triggered. The refill is an instant if the last card in a row is bought. During the last round you are right, it makes no sense to buy.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alexander Pfister
msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Michele said it correct. Whenever somebody takes the last card, the row is renewed immediately. So the deck may deplete during the buying phase. Then use the cards from the reserve deck, because people can still buy and complete them in the next round.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Deutsche Mannschaftsmeisterschaft im Brettspiel
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
ufotexspa wrote:
When the deck runs out is when everybody has taken his new objective card, after the cleaning phase correct? Then do we have to play the next round where we can complete some more of the old objectives plus another full round when we can fulfill some of the ones taken from the reserve, or does the game end after the first full round after the refill? Because in this second case, the refill done when the end game was triggered was totally wasted, since we had no time/no need to buy those last cards. I hope I was clear explaining my doubt. Can you help me? Thanks so much
The deck runs out.
Cards of the Reserve Deck come into play.
They now can immediately be bought by the players.
In the following final round those can be fulfilled and score points.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
SIMONE COLOMBO
Italy
Genova
GE
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks so much all of you! Now it's clearer. We were doing the phase wrong, refilling the depleted rows only during the cleaning phase, not during the New objective one! Now refilling them before the last round is still useful.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michele Bricchi
Germany
munich
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
enjoy the game!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls