Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Saratoga 1777 AD» Forums » Rules

Subject: Leaders and unactivated rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Anders Johnsson
msg tools
When a leader is not activated the units in his command can move with full movement (if not Out of command ), can the unactivated leader move as the other units?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher Wood
United States
Fresno
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
Units & leaders don't need to be activated to move.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Anders Johnsson
msg tools
Thanks for the reply. I have one more question if you can help me.
It says that combat is volontary for both sides, does that mean i can retreat before battle?. And if so, how far and does it affect other units that are in the way of my retreat?.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher Wood
United States
Fresno
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb

If it's before combat, it's not "retreat" per se, just movement.

Yes, you can move before combat, as long as you observe the normal movement rules incl. Stacking (3.1) and ZOC (3.2).

Note esp. in 3.2.4: "If, at the beginning of its Movement Phase, a phasing stack occupies a hex in an enemy ZOC, the phasing stack may freely exit the enemy ZOC hex but must immediately stop if entering another hex in an enemy ZOC."

Don't forget, you get a free move after the movement phase, before combat! This is a mechanism I have not seen elsewhere.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Anders Johnsson
msg tools
Thanks again. I will play a few turns...i might be back for more information
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls