Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

SpaceCorp» Forums » Rules

Subject: Clarification about Colonies rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Fernando Rebelo
Czech Republic
Prague
flag msg tools
badge
"U can't touch this" - MC Hammer, 1989
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
According to the rulebook, one of the requirements to build a colony is:

"all exploration boxes are occupied by their BASES"

But then, you get 1 CP if:

"there are two or more bases in the region"

So, if you build in a system that has 2 or three exploration tiles you will always get this 1 CP because all exploration boxes must have a base in order for a colony to be built. Correct?

Unless I am missing something (which is very likely) the only cases where you wouldn't get this 1 CP is when the system has only one exploration tile.

Thanks for the help guys.







2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gary
United Kingdom
Brighton
East Sussex
flag msg tools
That's a nice badge, innit?
badge
oooh that tickles!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
IIRC, it is not possible for a star system to be partly explored or partly built on.

A single explore action and a single build action covers all sites in the region.
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Buckley
United Kingdom
Abingdon
Oxfordshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
jellynut wrote:
IIRC, it is not possible for a star system to be partly explored or partly built on.

A single explore action and a single build action covers all sites in the region.
Yes, when you explore/build in a star system you do it for all sites.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fernando Rebelo
Czech Republic
Prague
flag msg tools
badge
"U can't touch this" - MC Hammer, 1989
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
hemulen wrote:
jellynut wrote:
IIRC, it is not possible for a star system to be partly explored or partly built on.

A single explore action and a single build action covers all sites in the region.
Yes, when you explore/build in a star system you do it for all sites.
Thanks guys, I was going through the rules of the last era (haven't played this last one yet) and clearly missed this.

But again, it makes the 1 CP for having at least 2 bases seem a bit weird because you will always get it (due to the requirement to build colonies) in a region that has 2 or more exploration tiles.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
BrentS
Australia
Sydney
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The Hybrids Adaptation also lets you place two bases on a single Primary discovery tile, which could mean two bases in a tile with a single Primary site......which would qualify for the Colony building bonus. This may be why the designer chose to refer to number of bases, rather than number of discovery sites in the system.

Brent.
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Buckley
United Kingdom
Abingdon
Oxfordshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The_Rebel wrote:
hemulen wrote:
jellynut wrote:
IIRC, it is not possible for a star system to be partly explored or partly built on.

A single explore action and a single build action covers all sites in the region.
Yes, when you explore/build in a star system you do it for all sites.
Thanks guys, I was going through the rules of the last era (haven't played this last one yet) and clearly missed this.

But again, it makes the 1 CP for having at least 2 bases seem a bit weird because you will always get it (due to the requirement to build colonies) in a region that has 2 or more exploration tiles.
It's a larger star system so there's more room to expand and more resources to build the colony from in-system?
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fernando Rebelo
Czech Republic
Prague
flag msg tools
badge
"U can't touch this" - MC Hammer, 1989
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
goshublue wrote:
The Hybrids Adaptation also lets you place two bases on a single Primary discovery tile, which could mean two bases in a tile with a single Primary site......which would qualify for the Colony building bonus. This may be why the designer chose to refer to number of bases, rather than number of discovery sites in the system.

Brent.
I see... it makes sense now

Thanks mate!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls