meeple Hello everyone,

I'm a junior web developer and I have spent the last 5-6 months building a Carcassonne clone to be played online.

But honestly I'm not sure if I will be sued by the owners of the game or not because I don't know much about the copyrights. So if I designed the tiles by myself (the artwork) and named it a very different name, would it be legal to share the game? Even for free?

If not? What should I do?

Here is a screenshot of the game. I'm yet to design the tiles so I'm just using the original tiles for now.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Dyer
United States
Playa Del Rey
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb

Asobrain.com also has a Carcassone clone called Xplorers.
They don't use the name or any of the artwork.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
ddyer wrote:

Asobrain.com also has a Carcassone clone called Xplorers.
They don't use the name or any of the artwork.
Aha, thanks! I just Googled it and i found it named Toulouse (a city in France). So this one plus the android app Farmassonne, I understand now that if I change the name and the artwork, they won't sue me?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad Miller
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
You are using their art.

I'd expect a Cease & Desist...
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hernan Ruiz Camauer
Argentina
Buenos Aires
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Brad, he asked about if he changed the art to use his own. In which case I think he would be fine, as long as he does not include their rules in text form, since those are also copyrighted.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B
United States
Farmingdale
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You ask if you could get sued, but the real question here is if it is the right thing to do?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Windopaene wrote:
You are using their art.

I'd expect a Cease & Desist...