Subject: KampfGruppe Commander III (KGCIII) in review rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Richard Wright
United States
Wentzville
MO
flag msg tools
I have been playing WWII games for 48 years. Skirmish games are fun, but, for me, lacked what I wanted to re-create from the multitude of books that I have read. This rules set is a “platoon” game, ie a stand equals to a platoon equivalent of troops or vehicles with each “game turn” representing about 30 minutes of actual battle time. It is an INTERACTIVE game system, ie. One player will execute an action while the opposing player reacts. That proceeds till the first player has exhausted his actions (and the opposing player’s re-actions), then the second player begins his cycle of actions. It is PERFECT for what I want to represent on the game board.
I will first provide some information on the rule book physical features, then the organization of the rules, then the nuances of the “system”, and lastly some modifications that I have introduced to make them PERFECT for my game experience. As a side note, these rules are for fighting in Europe, Africa, & the Near East. If you need rules for fighting in the Far East, you will not find them here.

First the book physical quality is superb! I am not a fan of “I-pad” rules. I prefer a solid, paper book that I may make notations and highlights to insure that I don’t miss a particular important statement. Mine is a soft-backed, high quality glossy paper document. Print is large enough for these aging eyes and areas for charts and emphasis are suitably highlighted. Graphically, it is pleasing and easy to read. Personally, I prefer a 3-ring binder with sheet protectors for my rules, so printed them and put them in a binder.