Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Root» Forums » Rules

Subject: Vagabond Face-Up/Face-Down/Damaged Discussion 3.0 rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Martin M
Germany
Passau
Bayern
flag msg tools
mb
The Vagabond rules 9.2.5 state that items can be "face up, face down, or damaged."
So we know face up and face down are mutually exclusive and damaged is supposed to be as well.
However since the rule rework wont flip items face up on Repair anymore it feels like the vagabond should have the ability to refresh items before repairing them. While not being logical in real world, from a gameplay perspective it makes quite some sense.

What i mean is: "You cant exhaust damaged items" + "You may refresh any item, damaged or not."


Opinions?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Pearson
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Items have two inherant states.

Ready/Exaughsted - Face up/Face Down

and Undamaged and Damaged.

An item can be any combination of these two. so

Ready and Undamaged
Ready and Damaged
Exaughsted and Undamaged
Exaughsted and Damaged.

If you repair an item it moved from Damaged to Undamaged but its other state remains.

You can also Ready and item that is damaged, but it doesnt make it undamaged.

Edit: This is slightly different to the Law of Root, but it is caused by the change to how Damaged works.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kenji B
msg tools
mb
In my reading, you should be able to refresh any item, damaged or not.

Rule 9.4.1: "Refresh. Flip two exhausted items face up for each [tea] face up at the start of your Birdsong. Then flip up three more exhausted items."

Says nothing about whether those items are damaged or not. The only limitation is that you can only exhaust undamaged items, as stated in 9.2.5.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vivien JustJ

New York
msg tools
Men's Rights Deactivist
badge
class instinct > politics
Avatar
mbmbmb
this has been discussed already, and yes, you can refresh an item that is damaged. the latest edition of the rules says:

Quote:
9.2.5 Items. The Vagabond’s capabilities depend on
the items he acquires. Items on the Vagabond’s
faction board can be face up or face down. The
Vagabond exhausts undamaged items, flipping
them face down, to take many actions.
and

Quote:
9.4.1 Refresh. Flip two exhausted items face up for
each T face up at the start of your Birdsong. Then
flip up three more exhausted items.
there's no restriction inherent in the refresh action. please check the files section for the latest rulesbook, and this thread for information about scoring changes:

https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/2091456/towards-faction-par...
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin M
Germany
Passau
Bayern
flag msg tools
mb
Oh neat, we still work with the delivered rulebook and the 3rd printing update kit, which does not include any mention of this rulechange.

My mistake. Thanks a lot guys
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls