Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Wing Leader: Supremacy 1943-1945» Forums » Rules

Subject: Circling rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Cory C
Canada
Ottawa
ON
flag msg tools
badge
100% FUN
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can a squadron circle with just some of it's movement points? ie. move 2 and circle for 1? The intention of this being to change it's facing.

Can a squadron on intercept circle provided it's met it's shortest route requirements and has a spare mp left?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pete Wagner
United States
Indiana
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Absolutely yes to all! I use circling ALL THE TIME and it is very important for:
- Slowing down your intercept approach to vector (just the minimum is required)
- Bouncing an enemy . . . you must spend 2 MP in the sun

and many other things but those two above are the most often used.

You can move, circle to use some MPs, then move some more with your remaining.

The current version of the rules states:

8.3.1 Circling
A squadron does not have to expend any or all of its MPs unless required
to by its mission [9.2]. A squadron that spends no MPs, or ends its move
by expending all its remaining MPs in the same square, is still considered
to be moving. The squadron is said to be ‘circling’. Mark it with a
Circling marker.


Pete
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cory C
Canada
Ottawa
ON
flag msg tools
badge
100% FUN
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks seems clear!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lee Brimmicombe-Wood
United Kingdom
Ely
Cambridgeshire
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In the second edition rules we are making things even clearer. In 8.3 it says:

"A squadron can spend 1 MP to stay in its current square; it can also turn within the square by any amount up to and including 180 degrees [8.1.1]."

So yes, you can circle in all or any part of your movement.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls