Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Highlander: The Board Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Duelling: tied for highest or lowest power rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ross O'Brien
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
I played a four-player game of Highlander earlier today, and a number of draws occurred, and we wanted to check we got the principles right.

In each of these scenarios, 3+ immortals are duelling and the Behead fate card is the only one left to draw.

Scenario 1: three immortals roll 5, 5, 2. As there's a tie for highest roll, neither draws the fate card and the lowest roller isn't beheaded.

Scenario 2: four immortals roll 5, 5, 2, 2. Again, the highest rolls tie, neither draws the fate card and the two low rollers aren't be beheaded.

Scenario 3: three immortals roll 5, 2, 2. As there's a clear highest roller, that immortal draws the Behead card and kills both low rollers simultaneously.

Are all of these correct?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lucas Patterson
msg tools
mb
anyone can spend Quickening tokens to re-roll. That's the best way to win. Ties can happen, but to me its a house rule that if neither wish to spend tokens to re-roll, then we call it a parry and move on. All of those scenarios work, as long as your group doesn't want to spend the tokens to re-roll.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Erik Stonemark
United States
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
narrativium wrote:
I played a four-player game of Highlander earlier today, and a number of draws occurred, and we wanted to check we got the principles right.

In each of these scenarios, 3+ immortals are duelling and the Behead fate card is the only one left to draw.

Scenario 1: three immortals roll 5, 5, 2. As there's a tie for highest roll, neither draws the fate card and the lowest roller isn't beheaded.

Scenario 2: four immortals roll 5, 5, 2, 2. Again, the highest rolls tie, neither draws the fate card and the two low rollers aren't be beheaded.

Scenario 3: three immortals roll 5, 2, 2. As there's a clear highest roller, that immortal draws the Behead card and kills both low rollers simultaneously.

Are all of these correct?
To confirm your principles(s) directly:

Assuming all players have used their quickening tokens and/or passed.
This occurs before the effect of the roll has been determined.(p. 9 of rulebook "Using Quickening Tokens").

Scenario 1: Correct! There is a tie at the top, the effect does not occur.

Scenario 2: Correct! There is a tie at the top, same as in scenario 1, no effect occurs. The fact that there is also a tie for lowest does not matter in this regard. The tie at the highest number takes precedence.

Scenario 3: Correct! The tie occurs at the lowest number rolled. The player who rolled highest draws the behead card and the effect happens to both players who rolled lowest.

This is on p.9 of the rulebook under "Rolling higher or lower" (at the top of the page).

"If two or more immortals roll highest(in the event of a tie), the effect does not occur. If two or more immortals roll lowest, the effect does occur to all immortals that rolled lowest."

Hope this helps!

In the end, there can be only one!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls