CPE Gaebler
msg tools
1) Corruption negates the effects of Bonuses. However, Folk Remedy has a Bonus that negates the effects of chosen Blights. Which takes precedence? Can I select Corruption when drawing Folk Remedy? (Same for any artifacts or other Powers whose Bonus negates the effects of a Blight.)

2) Terror makes you roll an extra die, but discard the highest. Does discarding the highest happen before or after bonuses like the bonus of Holy Relics, or the malus on the Bard's Trickery?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy Lennert
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm inclined to say that it generally depends on which effect begins first. For instance, an Acolyte at the location of a Corruption can't exhaust Dark Veil to ignore it, but if the Acolyte with no Corruption uses Dark Veil to ignore blights, and then ends up at the location of a Corruption on the same turn (e.g. by moving to one, or having one created on top of him), then Dark Veil would allow him to ignore it until the effect expires.

That implies a Bard with Folk Remedy would need to get out from under the effects of the Corruption at least once in order for it to begin taking effect, but after that (if Corruption is one of the chosen blights) he'll be immune until something interrupts the power (e.g. if it's exhausted).

Note that the Ranger power Hermit has text that specifically trumps Corruption.

Artifacts do not give Bonuses, so they are not blocked by Corruption anyway. (But can be blocked by Decay, and would follow similar logic in event of a conflict.)



When several effects modify a single event (such as a die roll), generally the affected player gets to choose the order to apply them. (Rule 14.3.1 on page 16.)
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
CPE Gaebler
msg tools
Thanks, those seem like simple enough rules.

I really the "simultaneous events" mechanic. It's a slight nudge favoring puzzle-thinking, calculating the best order to resolve "simultaneous" events.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
S. Colcord
United States
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Antistone wrote:
I'm inclined to say that it generally depends on which effect begins first. For instance, an Acolyte at the location of a Corruption can't exhaust Dark Veil to ignore it, but if the Acolyte with no Corruption uses Dark Veil to ignore blights, and then ends up at the location of a Corruption on the same turn (e.g. by moving to one, or having one created on top of him), then Dark Veil would allow him to ignore it until the effect expires.
[...]
Artifacts do not give Bonuses, so they are not blocked by Corruption anyway. (But can be blocked by Decay, and would follow similar logic in event of a conflict.)
So in the case of Vanishing Cowl vs. Decay, the rule would be:

If Decay comes out first, or the Vanishing Cowl's effect has already been used on that turn, then the Cowl becomes useless until the Decay is destroyed.

However, if a player already has the Vanishing Cowl, and has not yet used its effect on the turn when a Decay comes out, they can select the Decay as the Cowl's target blight, and ignore it (allowing them to use their other items, but tying up the Cowl's power to do so). In this state, giving the Cowl to another player would cause it to succumb to the Decay, since giving it implies that it is inactive, and if it's ever inactive, it Decays.

Correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy Lennert
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As with Dark Veil vs. Corruption, if you are under the effect of a Decay, then it is too late to use Vanishing Cowl. Since Vanishing Cowl's effect only lasts for a single turn at a time and Decay affects the entire map, in practical terms that means that Vanishing Cowl probably will never help you against a Decay in any way. The Vanishing Cowl can't "sustain itself" the way Folk Remedy can, because it gets "reset" every turn.

If the Decay is just coming into play, I'm inclined to say that Vanishing Cowl can't target it to block it until the Decay's effect is already in force, at which point it is too late. But even if one ruled that you could use it "simultaneously" with the blight coming out, that would only last until the end of the current turn, so it would very rarely matter.

Hypothetically you could "bootstrap" the Vanishing Cowl by using some other effect to block the Decay's effect (e.g. Rune of Nullification), then using Vanishing Cowl while Decay was already blocked in order to continue blocking it after the other effect went away. But again, Vanishing Cowl only lasts until the end of the current turn, so that would only help you if the other effect blocking the Decay went away in the middle of the turn and you wanted to continue using more items during the remainder of that same turn. That's possible, but pretty unusual. It could maybe happen if e.g. the Wizard wanted to use Haste to deactivate the Rune of Nullification for an extra action.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls