Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

SpaceCorp» Forums » Rules

Subject: Solo: Meaning of "unoccupied" rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Narciso Jaramillo
United States
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When processing the Industrial competition base match, what is an "unoccupied" site? Is it a site with no teams, no bases, no discovery tiles, or some combination of those?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chad Jensen
United States
Santa Rosa
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Not occupied by a team.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Narciso Jaramillo
United States
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks. (I assume that means neither a player team nor a competition team.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chad Jensen
United States
Santa Rosa
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
notwebsafe wrote:
(I assume that means neither a player team nor a competition team.)
I didn't specify one or the other so, yes, that means both.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Cockburn
United Kingdom
Sleaford
Lincolnshire
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In the same vein:

Star Children Adaptation: "...Place it on the star in any region without a team."
This clearly refers to both player teams and competition teams.

Entangled Transmitter Breakthrough: "Immediately transfer one of your teams ... to any empty star system, placing it directly on the star."

What does 'empty' mean in this context?

In my last game every region already had something present (either a base or a team) but by contrasting the wording of the two cards I took the latter to mean empty of discovery tiles or bases, and so I transferred a team to an 'empty' star system with a competition team.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin O'Brien
Scotland
Falkirk
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This is on page 12 of the solo rules with reference to Near/Deep Space Probe:

An "empty" site is one containing no game piece of any kind.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Cockburn
United Kingdom
Sleaford
Lincolnshire
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Emmowbee wrote:
This is on page 12 of the solo rules with reference to Near/Deep Space Probe:

An "empty" site is one containing no game piece of any kind.

Thanks, I'd missed that definition.

And Drat. cry This turns my recent victory into a hollow victory because I only won by cheating.

I'm even wondering if I cheated by taking the Entangled Transmitter Breakthrough at all. The instruction on it was impossible for me to carry out. (And it didn't sound optional.) There were no empty star systems to transfer a team to.

Thematically you could argue that there if there was no empty star system that my team could transfer to, then the Entangled Transmitter remained only an untested theoretical possibility and not a Breakthrough. And if I had no Entangled Transmitter, then I shouldn't have been able to develop the Jump Drive. Quadruple movement down the drain. Drat and double drat.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls