Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Gloomhaven» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can You Ignore an Attack Modifier Card? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Matthew Saloff
United States
Edinboro
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
He's a card player, gambler, scoundrel. You'd like him.
badge
He's a card player, gambler, scoundrel. You'd like him.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi all. Weird question that I couldn't seem to find an answer for:

Can I voluntarily ignore like a positive +1 modifier card or the "2x" positive card that I draw for myself?

I think I found you can ignore certain bonuses like condition effects from rolling modifiers, etc. (I think?) but what about the normal positive ability modifier effects?


The situation was there was 1 monster left in a scenario that we didn't want to kill right away so that we could gather up the last few coins, but my friend did a small attack just to get an XP and hit the 2x, which was the only card in his modifier deck that would've killed it. Could we ignore the bonus of 2x?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marcel Cwertetschka
Germany
Vienna
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Gloomhaven: Forgotten Circles!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Simple answer: no. The times 2 is not a bonus but a modifier you have to apply.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris
msg tools
number is mandatory. effect is not, you might ignore to stun an enemy.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ravage Board Gaming
United Kingdom
Bristol
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Not strategy forum, but... You should have left them alive and lost a card to negate damage when they attacked instead.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Saloff
United States
Edinboro
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
He's a card player, gambler, scoundrel. You'd like him.
badge
He's a card player, gambler, scoundrel. You'd like him.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Stomski wrote:
Not strategy forum, but... You should have left them alive and lost a card to negate damage when they attacked instead.
It was dumber than that lol. It was a skeleton, and we were at full health with tricks to heal and evade, and had plenty of cards to negate. There was no way it was going to kill us and there was 4 or 5 coins still laying around, playing on difficulty 3 so 3x reward.

Buuuut then my friend just *had* to try and squeeze 1 extra XP out and go for a stupid attack that "won't even kill it except on the 2x. It's fiiine"....

Lesson learned lol.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Saloff
United States
Edinboro
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
He's a card player, gambler, scoundrel. You'd like him.
badge
He's a card player, gambler, scoundrel. You'd like him.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks though, everyone.

I was pretty sure you couldn't ignore it but wasn't 100% sure since you can ignore certain other positive effects.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Phadin XR
msg tools
Such is the luck of the draw sometimes. We've had a few scenarios end early, but on the flip side, we've sometimes expected to end a scenario with a strategy only for the draws to refuse us and push it into a much more harrowing situation.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
S T
msg tools
mbmbmb
Ryaneko wrote:
number is mandatory. effect is not, you might ignore to stun an enemy.
Is this true for rolling modifiers in your deck as well? If I pull a rolling push 2, I can ignore it?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Spirio
Austria
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sure, why should it be different?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jay Johnson
United States
Cedar Falls
Iowa
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
daisychopper wrote:
Ryaneko wrote:
number is mandatory. effect is not, you might ignore to stun an enemy.
Is this true for rolling modifiers in your deck as well? If I pull a rolling push 2, I can ignore it?
you can ignore the push 2, but you can't ignore the rolling part.

so if it is a regular attack and you draw a rolling modifier, you must draw another.
If it is a Advantaged attack and you draw a rolling modifier and a regular modifier, you must combine them and take the result.
If it is a Disadvantaged attack and you draw a rolling modifier and a regular modifier, you must ignore the rolling modifier and take the regular modifier.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Spirio
Austria
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
obviously you need to first get your attack, and then you can start skipping single abilities
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls