Comanauts» Forums » Reviews

Subject: Comanauts review rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Moshe Saricov
Israel
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm not a professional reviewer, but I liked my first game so much, I had to share the experience and my thought.

First of all, I'm not a native English speaker, I apologize for any spelling and grammar mistakes.

If Inception and Stuffed fables ever had a child, it is this game.

Comanauts takes a lot of inspiration from the world of "Inception", from dream zones, totems and etc. But does this with such a twist and fluid gameplay that it has created something all of its own. The game revolves around a storybook that is divided between Comazones - an area of the dreamlike state that is part of the subconscious memories of a geek scientist, being held in a coma state by his inner demons.
In the game we play as avatars, fragments from his memories that we control in order to move through the different comazones, try to discover what happened to the doctor in this phase of his life, while searching for clues on what inner daemon is holding the doctor in his grasp based on hints we gather from the area we are in and the doctors' "inner child" who show us periodically and if we can appease it, give us a clue on the whereabouts of the area the doctor is trapped in.

Mechanics: The game uses dice from a bag, the dice have different colors and each color corresponds to a different attribute, you use red dice to execute melee attacks and strength based checks, green dice to execute ranged attacks and dexterity based checks, yellow dice to perform perception checks and blue dice for resistance and stamina checks, purple dice can be used as any kind of attribute, and you can always replace two attribute dice with one dice that was used before (by you or other players).