Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Yamataï» Forums » Rules

Subject: Scoring Question on Unused Boats rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Sierra Sharpe
United States
Ypsilanti
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Just played Yamatai for the first time and have a scoring question due to what reads as a discrepancy in the rule book to me.

Page 6: “The harbor location on your mat allows you to keep one boat for future turns (one of the specialists can upgrade this capacity).The other boats must be put aside and can no longer be used. At the end of the game, you will lose one prestige point for every two boats put aside, regardless of color.”

Page 7: “-1 PP for every 2 unused boats on your player mat, regardless of color.”

My issue is that I interpret “unused boats” and “boats put aside” as two different things. My opponent did not put any boats aside throughout the game. And they had the Specialist that increased their harbor capacity to 3. So, at final scoring, they had 3 unused boats on their mat, and no boats put aside. We decided for them to NOT take the 1 point penalty.

How do you score this?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marc Paquien
France
Talloires
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
You played correctly.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sierra Sharpe
United States
Ypsilanti
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Thank you so much for the quick response! We enjoyed the game and are excited to explore it more.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nicholas Korpelainen
United Kingdom
Derby
Derbyshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Clearly only boats in excess of harbour slots would count for a penalty, if there are more than one in in excess.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls