Recommend
5 
 Thumb up
 Hide
14 Posts

Virgin Queen» Forums » Rules

Subject: What are some more obscure rules that players/GMs miss? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Eric J

California
msg tools
I will be GMing a game in the near future. I've played a decent amount of VQ games and know the rules pretty well but there's always that doubt that I missed something. So what are those little rules that your players forgot or missed? Thanks!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stig Atle Myhre
Norway
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
There is always details that must be checked when we play. I am sure you noticed when you have played yourself.

But it is very important that the players understand the retreat options and LOC in tactical disposals on the board. If a player has misunderstood these rules, and lose his whole army because of it, it is likely that player will avoid the game in the future.

Good luck!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nicholas
Germany
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1. You can build ships in Malta, Oran, Algiers etc.
2. Allied France/Protestant can build on each others spaces, provided it's a homespace for the building power. Fortresses too!
3. You can't announce a marriage with someone you are at war with.
4. You can avoid placing unrest during religous conversions, if you change a 6 to a 5.
5. Only one rebellion per religious struggle area per impulse.
6. Scotland's diplomatic modifiers
7. HRE doesn't get a regular in winter, Can choose regular in winter or either 2 mercs or 4 mers for hire.
8. If you marry two royals from the same power, only the higher one counts for the result roll.
9. If you pirate the treasure fleet successfully, the pirate chooses the awards, not the spanish player.
10. Virgin Queen home card can pick up cards from the discard pile.
11. Shooting Henry III of France is really bad for the French (and easy for the assassin).
12. Special rules regarding Ireland activation (might be great for the spanish player, if going for a gunpowder plot.).
13. You can build Galleons in Gibraltar, they are fine in the Med (at lesat if you don't want to run).
14. Treasure fleet escorts can go to Spanish Home Ports in the Med.
15. No Gunpowder plot if England/Spain are allied (ruling from Ed here on BGG, not mentioned in the rules).
16. Race built galleon bonus doesn't work in ports.
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joel K
United States
Minnetrista
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Nicholas M wrote:
7. HRE doesn't get a regular in winter, but either 2 mercs or 4 mers for hire.
I have always understood this and played it as the HRE having 3 options: one regular (like everyone else), 2 mercs, or 4 mercs for hire on the power card.

If that's wrong, then I've been in error for 7 years...yikes.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nicholas
Germany
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I've just reread, and I think you are probably right Joel. Well, at least it hasn't been 7 years for me!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Nestor
United States
Maryland
flag msg tools
Nicholas M wrote:
1. You can build ships in Malta, Oran, Algiers etc.
2. Allied France/Protestant can build on each others spaces, provided it's a homespace for the building power. Fortresses too!
3. You can't announce a marriage with someone you are at war with.
4. You can avoid placing unrest during religous conversions, if you change a 6 to a 5.
5. Only one rebellion per religious struggle area per impulse.
6. Scotland's diplomatic modifiers
7. HRE doesn't get a regular in winter, Can choose regular in winter or either 2 mercs or 4 mers for hire.
8. If you marry two royals from the same power, only the higher one counts for the result roll.
9. If you pirate the treasure fleet successfully, the pirate chooses the awards, not the spanish player.
10. Virgin Queen home card can pick up cards from the discard pile.
11. Shooting Henry III of France is really bad for the French (and easy for the assassin).
12. Special rules regarding Ireland activation (might be great for the spanish player, if going for a gunpowder plot.).
13. You can build Galleons in Gibraltar, they are fine in the Med (at lesat if you don't want to run).
14. Treasure fleet escorts can go to Spanish Home Ports in the Med.
15. No Gunpowder plot if England/Spain are allied (ruling from Ed here on BGG, not mentioned in the rules).
16. Race built galleon bonus doesn't work in ports.
With respect to #1, the Ottomans can only build corsairs in Algiers and Tripoli, NOT galleys.

The rule that I see most often forgotten is that France can NOT ally with both Spain and the Protestants on the same turn.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nicholas
Germany
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
And Spain can only build galleys in Malta/Oran, not galleons. If you nitpick, nitpick properly!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
The Mad Hatter
United States
Burbank
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I always forget that when resolving patronage for artists and scientists, you resolve from highest to lowest on their printed face value, and for ties you resolve by impulse order. We're always tempted to do it by how many CP were spent (since those artists and scientists physically sit higher on the patronage chart), but that's a mistake - the better ones roll first, potentially getting better choices of rewards.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
German Mike
United States
Hudson
Ohio
flag msg tools
...mmmmh MEAT
badge
FlgAbw
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Card #112 (Day of the Barricades) is only added after Catholic League Forms. Do not put in starting deck.
Ransom of Leaders (9.3): Leaders that have not been negotiated in the previous phase (9.1) may now (don’t have to) be ransomed back by the owner for one random card draw. The power holding the leader captive cannot refuse the offer of 1 card. Reminder: this is distinctly different from negotiating army leaders back in (9.1).
Army units or leaders that lost a battle may not move again.
Naval units or leaders that lost a battle may not move again!
One interception attempt (whether successful or not) per unit/leader.
Europe Map Piracy: Defense dice = +1 die for each fortress (not keys)
Conversions: No single target space needed (unlike rebellions) = 5 dice may be spread
Royals from powers at war may not marry [9.1]!
Patronize: one Artist and/or one Scientist only per turn [11.1]. Artists sponsored by events do count for that limit [22.1 & 22.2]. Resolution: highest to lowest rating (ties = impulse order)
Assault: Only one assault per space per single impulse [15.1]! Also, move ≠ assault in the same impulse [15.1].
Assault: watch enemy naval units in adjacent sea zones
Cavalry is ignored when assaulting [15.1].
On all piracy: defender hits before attacker.
World Map Piracy: Two hits eliminate a sea captain from the World Map [16.5].
World Map Piracy: Spanish player chooses to withhold one treasure if fortress is connected to sea zone [16.5].
HRE may build 2 mercs, or 1 regular or 4 Mercs for Hire" during winter phase [20.6]
France may ally with Spain or the Protestants but not with both on the same turn
Unrest ≠ Protestant VP space
Spring deploy: other major power naval units in adjacent ports block
Patrols also move during naval movement.
2 types of Fortified Spaces: keys and fortresses [2.1]. Functionally the same. Only fortresses = +1 die against Europe Map Piracy (not keys)
Negotiations: every power (except Ottomans) can offer Mercs (not only HRE) as a binding deal. Arrive in capital [9.1].
Negotiations: May yield control of political control if home space or France/Hugenots or Spain/Protestants. [9.1]
Spain and Protestant may never ally [9.2].
DoW: Minor non-player powers may be DoW'd upon, except Portugal (not until King Sebastian) [9.4]
Change of Political Control: Unfortified Spaces [12.2] = Control Unfortified Space action (1CP); Fortified Spaces [12.3] = Siege, Negotiation, Rebellion or Events. This includes empty fortified spaces (keys and fortresses).
Unrest [12.4]: Spaces in Unrest may 1) be target of Conversions or Rebellions, 2) not be considered Protestant VP (so remains Catholic)
Displacement [12.5]: Army = nearest fortified space or capital; Navy = nearest friendly port
Sea Assault [15.1]: No assault if 1) enemy naval units in adjacent sea zone, 2) own naval units ≤ enemy naval units in ports. Corsairs ignored for 1)+2).
Naval movement into ports only allowed when enemy naval units present [16.1].
Naval Transport [16.3]: 1 CP per sea zone and port (not 2+1). Port = clear of enemy naval units.
Back-to-back Conversions [11.1, 18.2 & 18.3] are allowed in the same religious struggle area in a single impulse (but not more than one area in 1 attempt). Unlike that, only 1 Rebellion per struggle area.
Spanish Treasure Fleet: Awards are chosen by pirate, not Spanish player [23.2].
Marriage: Different powers = add both ratings; same power = only higher rating [21.1].
No build land units Ottoman (Algiers, Djerba/Tripoli) and Spain (Oran, Malta) [17.2]
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Nestor
United States
Maryland
flag msg tools
DaMilli wrote:
:
Unrest [12.4]: Spaces in Unrest may 1) be target of Conversions or Rebellions, 2) not be considered Protestant VP (so remains Catholic)
The quoted statement needs clarification because as stated it is incorrect.

Spaces under Protestant religious influence but in unrest do NOT REMAIN CATHOLIC. For purposes of computing religious VP and religious automatic victory conditions, they are not considered Protestant. However, for all OTHER PURPOSES, they are treated as spaces under Protestant religious influence.

For example, Scottish spaces that are under Protestant religious influence but in unrest are considered to be Protestant when computing religious modifiers for the Scottish diplomatic resolution. English spaces under Protestant religious influence but in unrest are NOT counted as Catholic for purposes of the Enterprise of England mandatory event VP scoring.

In addition, the first point is only correct with respect to PROTESTANT Rebellions. However, spaces in unrest MAY NOT BE TARGETED by CATHOLIC rebellion attempts either as part of the consequence of an English Catholic rebellion action or the Rising of the North event.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Froud
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks Mike for this extensive list of rules to watch out for. One minor clarification regarding
DaMilli wrote:
Royals from powers at war may not marry [9.1]!
Should be: Royals from powers at war may not agree to marry [9.1]. (From Rule 9.1: "(the powers may go to war later in the turn; if so the marriage is not cancelled)." S
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carsten Jorgensen
Denmark
flag msg tools
DaMilli wrote:
Card #112 (Day of the Barricades) is only added after Catholic League Forms. Do not put in starting deck.
Ransom of Leaders (9.3): Leaders that have not been negotiated in the previous phase (9.1) may now (don’t have to) be ransomed back by the owner for one random card draw. The power holding the leader captive cannot refuse the offer of 1 card. Reminder: this is distinctly different from negotiating army leaders back in (9.1).
Army units or leaders that lost a battle may not move again.
Naval units or leaders that lost a battle may not move again!
One interception attempt (whether successful or not) per unit/leader.
Europe Map Piracy: Defense dice = +1 die for each fortress (not keys)
Conversions: No single target space needed (unlike rebellions) = 5 dice may be spread
Royals from powers at war may not marry [9.1]!
Patronize: one Artist and/or one Scientist only per turn [11.1]. Artists sponsored by events do count for that limit [22.1 & 22.2]. Resolution: highest to lowest rating (ties = impulse order)
Assault: Only one assault per space per single impulse [15.1]! Also, move ≠ assault in the same impulse [15.1].
Assault: watch enemy naval units in adjacent sea zones
Cavalry is ignored when assaulting [15.1].
On all piracy: defender hits before attacker.
World Map Piracy: Two hits eliminate a sea captain from the World Map [16.5].
World Map Piracy: Spanish player chooses to withhold one treasure if fortress is connected to sea zone [16.5].
HRE may build 2 mercs, or 1 regular or 4 Mercs for Hire" during winter phase [20.6]
France may ally with Spain or the Protestants but not with both on the same turn
Unrest ≠ Protestant VP space
Spring deploy: other major power naval units in adjacent ports block
Patrols also move during naval movement.
2 types of Fortified Spaces: keys and fortresses [2.1]. Functionally the same. Only fortresses = +1 die against Europe Map Piracy (not keys)
Negotiations: every power (except Ottomans) can offer Mercs (not only HRE) as a binding deal. Arrive in capital [9.1].
Negotiations: May yield control of political control if home space or France/Hugenots or Spain/Protestants. [9.1]
Spain and Protestant may never ally [9.2].
DoW: Minor non-player powers may be DoW'd upon, except Portugal (not until King Sebastian) [9.4]
Change of Political Control: Unfortified Spaces [12.2] = Control Unfortified Space action (1CP); Fortified Spaces [12.3] = Siege, Negotiation, Rebellion or Events. This includes empty fortified spaces (keys and fortresses).
Unrest [12.4]: Spaces in Unrest may 1) be target of Conversions or Rebellions, 2) not be considered Protestant VP (so remains Catholic)
Displacement [12.5]: Army = nearest fortified space or capital; Navy = nearest friendly port
Sea Assault [15.1]: No assault if 1) enemy naval units in adjacent sea zone, 2) own naval units ≤ enemy naval units in ports. Corsairs ignored for 1)+2).
Naval movement into ports only allowed when enemy naval units present [16.1].
Naval Transport [16.3]: 1 CP per sea zone and port (not 2+1). Port = clear of enemy naval units.
Back-to-back Conversions [11.1, 18.2 & 18.3] are allowed in the same religious struggle area in a single impulse (but not more than one area in 1 attempt). Unlike that, only 1 Rebellion per struggle area.
Spanish Treasure Fleet: Awards are chosen by pirate, not Spanish player [23.2].
Marriage: Different powers = add both ratings; same power = only higher rating [21.1].
No build land units Ottoman (Algiers, Djerba/Tripoli) and Spain (Oran, Malta) [17.2]
One interception attempt (whether successful or not) per unit/leader.

Only for land units - naval units may try to intercept during a different action later in the same impulse.


On all piracy: defender hits before attacker.
Not for Treasure Fleet - here they are simultaneously.


Negotiations: every power (except Ottomans) can offer Mercs (not only HRE) as a binding deal. Arrive in capital [9.1].

Might add that HRE cannot recieve mercs and that if capital is in unrest no mercs may be recieved.


Negotiations: May yield control of political control if home space or France/Hugenots or Spain/Protestants. [9.1]

Does not need to be a home space - any space in France/Netherlands may given if between the relevant powers.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carsten Jorgensen
Denmark
flag msg tools
Nicholas M wrote:

2. Allied France/Protestant can build on each others spaces, provided it's a homespace for the building power. Fortresses too!
I have never heard of this rule! Seems very strange. Where did you find this?

Edit: Pretty sure you are mistaken when it comes to units. From the start of 17.Construction (my bold):

"There are a number of actions which allow powers to construct new
land units, naval units, expeditions, or fortresses. New units must
be constructed in one of your power’s home spaces that is currently
under your control
(Exceptions: The cards Foreign Volunteers and
Reiters allow units to be built in a non-home friendly space). Units
may never be constructed in a space in unrest."

This does not seem to apply to fortresses (as they are not units). The rules only mentions this (from 17.5):

"Fortresses may be constructed in any unfortified
friendly home space on the Europe Map that is
not occupied by enemy units or an existing fortress
marker (and is not in unrest)."

Seems like an oversight, but as written I guess allied France/Prots can build fortresses in each others spaces.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nicholas
Germany
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:

Land units may be constructed in any friendly home space that is not occupied by enemy units. The only exceptions are:
Allied spaces are defined as friendly.

That directly contradicts the passage you quoted, but it's probably safe to assume that your quoted passage is the intent.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls