Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Charterstone» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can you pick up peril without paying/using the building? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jade Balexia
Australia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello all,

Just wanting to find out other peoples opinions...

Is it a legal move to place a worker or minion on a location and pick up peril that is there but not pay/use the building?

In the scenario that happened during our game, the building the peril was collected from was one that you would usually have to pay influence & money to build. The player didn't pay anything, they just put their worker there and picked up the peril token and that was their turn.

Also, is this a legal move for any space in general (ignoring peril)? Can you just put a worker or minion on a space and not pay or take/do the benefit?

I look forward to every ones input

Cheers
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
skipper 2206
France
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Absolutly not !!

Whenever you place a worker on a building you MUST PAY the action (peril inside or not)
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Israel Waldrom
New Zealand
Dunedin
flag msg tools
and Solo Playtester too ^^
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In order to be able to place a worker on a building you must be able to pay the cost of using the building (or be able to get it via the minion that is placed). You then have to pay the cost. Gaining the benefit of the building is optional (except if the benefit is opening a crate, claiming an objective or building a building, in which case you have to be able to do so in order to use the building - see FAQ for this exception). This is all covered in rule 15.

So no, it isn't a legal move. If you want the peril off a building you'll have to pay to use it.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darren Nakamura
United States
Columbus
Mississippi
flag msg tools
http://www.destructoid.com/author.phtml?a=1364
badge
Darren@destructoid.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
skipper2206 wrote:
Absolutly not !!

Whenever you place a worker on a building you MUST do the action (peril inside or not)
To clarify this, you must pay the building cost. You may choose to forgo the benefit if you want.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Molokov (AU)
Australia
Adelaide
South Australia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Israel and Darren are right. You'll also notice in the rule for peril that picking up the peril cube is the *last* thing you do - so you can't, for example, go to a building that has peril as a cost and use the peril cube that's on the building to pay some of the cost.

(This is different to using a minion's power to help pay for a building, which is perfectly fine.)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Becq
United States
Cerritos
California
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Dexter345 wrote:
skipper2206 wrote:
Absolutly not !!

Whenever you place a worker on a building you MUST do the action (peril inside or not)
To clarify this, you must pay the building cost. You may choose to forgo the benefit if you want.
To clarify this, you *can't* opt to forgo the benefit on certain "core buildings" that allow you to construct buildings, unlock crates, or score objectives. (But you can for other buildings.)
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rich Pelvin
Australia
Macquarie
ACT
flag msg tools
There is only one way (I think) to get peril off a building without paying the cost: if you fill up the peril track on the back of your tuck box you can nab one peril from a building at the beginning of every game. This can be useful if you want to upgrade a building that no-one ever seems to use.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls