Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Dragonfire» Forums » Rules

Subject: Dangerous Waters and scene ending. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Thomas Andersson
Sweden
flag msg tools
mb
I have the Dangerous Waters DF card in effect (heal half the damage taken rounded down for all, when discarded everyone takes 3 damage each).

This will basically kill off 2 of my characters.

BUT...
We defeat the last encounter during the round and the scene ends. This means the DF card doesn't go to the discard, it's buried instead.

My thinking (or hoping rather) is that this actually bypasses the 3 damage and I basically got a few points free healing from it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Barry
United States
Marion
Iowa
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Correct. Ending a scene causes you to bury the active Dragonfire card rather than discard it. When burying it, you do not activate the card's deadfall effect.

Usually when you complete a scene you perform a short rest. In a short rest each character heals 1 HP.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B C Z
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
SteinerKD wrote:
I have the Dangerous Waters DF card in effect (heal half the damage taken rounded down for all, when discarded everyone takes 3 damage each).

This will basically kill off 2 of my characters.

BUT...
We defeat the last encounter during the round and the scene ends. This means the DF card doesn't go to the discard, it's buried instead.

My thinking (or hoping rather) is that this actually bypasses the 3 damage and I basically got a few points free healing from it.
Characters only lose 3 HP if this Dragonfire Card is discarded.

As you note, buried (due to Scene end or some other card effects) is not the same as being discarded.

If Dangerous Waters is the Dragonfire card and it is at all possible to end the scene this round -- it is usually in your best interests to do so.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Keith Kessler
United States
California
flag msg tools
[Edited 'cause if I'd refreshed my browser window before posting, I'd've seen that folks had already answered the question ... but I'll still leave the text of the rule here]

Quote:
At the end of any player’s turn, if the Scene has ended, the party
leader removes the active Dragonfire card from play and puts it on
the bottom of the Dragonfire deck (not in the discard). This is
called burying the card, and it does not increase the Dragonfire level.

Dragonfire cards with the Deadfall icon on them [the red hourglass]
have an effect that occurs only when they are put in the discard
pile. Burying a Dragonfire card that has a Deadfall effect lets the
players avoid that effect.
(bold added).
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Andersson
Sweden
flag msg tools
mb
byronczimmer wrote:

If Dangerous Waters is the Dragonfire card and it is at all possible to end the scene this round -- it is usually in your best interests to do so.
Yeah, that was my thinking so team went all in to take the Rooper out (annoying one). Several chars are severely low on HP (as they would have been stunned by this), but this actually means I will hit scene 3 without any exhausted characters for the first time ever.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B C Z
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
s_kk_f wrote:
[Edited 'cause if I'd refreshed my browser window before posting, I'd've seen that folks had already answered the question ... but I'll still leave the text of the rule here]

Quote:
At the end of any player’s turn, if the Scene has ended, the party
leader removes the active Dragonfire card from play and puts it on
the bottom of the Dragonfire deck (not in the discard). This is
called burying the card, and it does not increase the Dragonfire level.

Dragonfire cards with the Deadfall icon on them [the red hourglass]
have an effect that occurs only when they are put in the discard
pile. Burying a Dragonfire card that has a Deadfall effect lets the
players avoid that effect.
(bold added).
Demonstrating you are learning how to fish is never a bad thing.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Keith Kessler
United States
California
flag msg tools
Did you mean to direct this comment to the OP?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B C Z
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
misread who had pulled from the rulebook.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls