Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Successors (third/fourth edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: ending independent armies movement and intercepts rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Geoff C
Canada
Victoria
BC
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When an independent army ends its movement it removes a control marker there. Their movement could trigger interception attempts as well. Which resolves first?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad Miller
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Haven't played in a while but...

Don't control markers get flipped at the end of the turn, and not the end of the movement?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Ruzzo
United States
Manchester
Connecticut
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Windopaene wrote:
Haven't played in a while but...

Don't control markers get flipped at the end of the turn, and not the end of the movement?
That sounds correct. The other way to flip a control marker with CUs is by spending points from a card.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Einmal ist keinmal
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
"I love beautiful melodies telling me terrible things."
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'd say the interception happens first, and if there's a battle, then the independent army (IA) only removes the control marker if the IA is victorious.

from 16.5 in the rules:
Quote:
IF DEFEATED: If the Independent Army is defeated, it is removed
from play. Exception, the Scythians and Illyrians are placed back
in their holding boxes and may reenter play if activated again by
the appropriate Tyche card.
IF VICTORIOUS: If the Independent Army wins the battle, it
remains in its location and removes the non-Independent control
marker (if any)
. An Independent Army never loses strength due to
battle losses.
IF A DRAWN BATTLE: If the battle is a draw, the Independent
Army is unchanged; it does not lose strength in drawn battles. If it
was the attacker, it must retreat to the space from which it entered
the battle. An Independent Army that must back up one space does
not remove any control markers that segment.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad Miller
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So it is a specific case if there is an independent army...

As I said, haven't played in a while.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Geoff C
Canada
Victoria
BC
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Although not 100% clear, the quoted text does seem to imply what I was leaning towards, that is, movement does not finish until after all combat resulting from that movement. Bold text was a useful find.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John B. Firer
United States
Glendale
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Interception happens first.

JBF
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls