Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Unconditional Surrender! World War 2 in Europe» Forums » Rules

Subject: When Does a Country Collapse? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Elisha
United States
Bala Cynwyd
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
The Quick Reference Guide at the back of the rulebook states:

"Country Collapse (13.2.1)
Trigger: A country activates due to when one of the following happens.
• A country’s National Will drops to zero and none of its Mainland cities is under enemy control
• All its Mainland cities are under enemy control.?|"

In the body of the rules, it states:
"13.2 Country Collapse
A country immediately collapses if its National Will drops to zero or all of its Mainland cities are under enemy control. [Exception: The USSR cannot collapse if the current turn is 1943 or later.] A country that collapses without being conquered remains an active country (2.1.1).
An active country can collapse multiple times per scenario. [Exception: The UK or USA can collapse only one time.]
When a country collapses, if at least one of its Mainland cities is under enemy control and there is an enemy ground unit in its Mainland Area, the country is conquered. [Exception: The UK, USA, or USSR can collapse, but it is never considered conquered.]"

If collapse is a prerequisite to being conquered, is the quick guide requirement that no mainland cities be enemy-controlled in error? The rules don't require that (nor does it seem logical).

Thanks in advance for any help you can offer.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Timo Kellomäki
Finland
Tampere
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Indeed, it looks like the quick reference guide has an error there (and another in that it says "A country activates due to" when it should be talking about collapse).

The actual rule 13.2.1 does not have the "none of its Mainland cities is under enemy control" part and that makes more sense than the quick reference version.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Salvatore Vasta
United States
Woodstock
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you for catching this.

Sal
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls