Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

HATE» Forums » Rules

Subject: Does the defender get to take areas? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dr P
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Avatar
In a battle in a clash does the defender if they win get to take that area on the map - and hence gain the area bonuses at the start of the next clash?

Seems a bit strange that you would be defending an area miles from your homeland, when you don't already own it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Benjamin C.
France
Annecy
flag msg tools
badge
Not a traitor
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't think so, it would just be a penalty for the first attacker, it it worked that way. You defend the territory to deprive your opponent the opportunity of conquering it.

edit : I'm wrong, the answer is yes.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dominic
Germany
Mülheim an der Ruhr
NRW
flag msg tools
mbmb
Yes they do. Page 23

Quote:
UPDATE THE CHRONICLE MAP
The player who won the Battle claims the chosen Territory and
writes their name on it directly on the Chronicle Map, erasing any
other name that was there before.
The player now owns this Territory and claims any bonuses it gives
at the start of each Clash. If they still hold the territory at the end of
the Chronicle, they score the Conquest Points listed on that Territory
The rulebook says the player not the attacker.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dr P
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Avatar
mighty_scoop wrote:
Yes they do. Page 23

Quote:
UPDATE THE CHRONICLE MAP
The player who won the Battle claims the chosen Territory and
writes their name on it directly on the Chronicle Map, erasing any
other name that was there before.
The player now owns this Territory and claims any bonuses it gives
at the start of each Clash. If they still hold the territory at the end of
the Chronicle, they score the Conquest Points listed on that Territory
The rulebook says the player not the attacker.

So it's a yes, basically this means that in attacking and hence selecting an area you may, if you lose, concede a desirable area to your opponent, that opens up their option for further selecting etc.

The importance of that will depend how balanced the various scenarios are.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Even though it seems a little strange that you could potentially win a territory far away from your own base of operations, it seems fair to me. After all, by being the defending clan you risk getting your units killed, mutilated and eaten, and thus loosing upgrades. So I think, if you share the risks you should also share in the profits.

To counter that the defender could use this new satelite territory to attack behind enemy lines you could houserule that it needs to be connected to the hometerritory to be able to host an invasion into a new area.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls