Cass
Australia
flag msg tools
Don't be a dick
badge
Your fun isn't wrong
mbmbmbmbmb
Players:
7yo (very competent gamer that regularly beats the family at all sorts of games, Kingdomino, Sushi Go Party!, Unstable Unicorns).
9yo (Not only a competent gamer, but she can read too).
Mum (that will be me . I am new to the hobby, but have always enjoyed games).

Thoughts after game #1
Have been eagerly anticipating this game. As soon as the 2yo was asleep we set it up... and then were immediately confused. The instructions leave a lot to be desired, and the game mechanics seem too complicated for the players that I would imagined are the target audience -- families with a mixed age of kids. Out of the box the game was not playable as a family game, I know the box says 12+, but if that is the case I think the game creators have missed a huge audience that could have been met if the mechanics had easier to follow and the game had started faster.

What we liked:
The kids were immediately excited by the tactile nature of building trees, and of course they built a practice tree straight away (writers of the rule book might be shocked to know that they managed it without needing to look at the pictorial instructions provided).

What we didn't like:
- The game mechanics were overly complicated, the rule book left enough things out to make it frustrating, the game begins really slowly with potential for the unwary player to end their game on round 1.

- The really cool tree feels like a gimmick alongside a complicated deck building game. It takes quite a few rounds of game play to even begin the tree - which is a bit of a fizzle for younger players.

- The rule book needs a graphic designer to look at it (why don't game creators spend money on this?), the tiny black text on stripey brown background is painful to read. The rule book completely lacks graphics and three pages are just text walls.