When playing this game we have always completely randomized starting territories, except that we split strongholds evenly between us. The following might be more true when playing without the ring as well.

Looking at the board initially, I developed the opinion that controlling the south side of the board must be the strongest strategy. Holding Harad must be strong because you can start in one corner, work in a straight line, and only have to defend two territories, one of which is a stronghold. Holding Mordor must be overpowered since there are three strongholds, two of which are blocking the exits. Even Gondor looked like a good place to conquer since it holds many territories within it right in a row, hard to access from other countries.

I noticed an unexpected thing when I started playing with people: players who concentrate on the top of the map tend to win. Here’s what I think has been going on in my game sessions. The south part of the map becomes hotly contested because it looks very powerful, but more than that it looks important and is where the major battles in the movies happen. Players will sacrifice more units to one another in order to trade territories back and forth in this area. In addition, the border between Mordor and Gondor at Ithilien and Morgul Vale tends to be the site of a major stand off where large amounts of troops are accumulated just staring at each other. Morgul Vale automatically adds one troop each turn and starts to grow bloated with troops. Even if the player in Mordor has no intention of aggression against Gondor, the Gondor player feels threatened and tends to build up in Ithilien. Then you know what happens when two players stack up that many units right next to each other. Well, we’ve got them there, might as well have them fight! This process ties up valuable troops that could otherwise have been spent on the offensive elsewhere, and again it gives the southern players more of a reason to attack each other. The player who t