Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

High Frontier (Third Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Powered landing net thrust rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
I'm sure this one is obvious, but as usual I can't seem to find specific reference when googling.


*If* you perform a powered landing on a site at the end of movement phase, you presumably still take the modified net-thrust value as calculated at the beginning of that movement when considering the site-size requirement?

So, with a solar-powered craft, you could move from a central heliocentric zone out to a more distant one, land on (say) a size 4 body with a modified thrust of 5 that you calculated at the start of the move... but then on a subsequent turn, even without necessarily making a mass adjustment, you'd calculate a new net-thrust of say 3... and so be unable to take off again (without additional thrust from shedding load, afterburning, etc.)?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Watkins
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Correct.

From section F2 in the rules:
Quote:
Before the rocket figure is moved, but after expending fuel for afterburning (G), compute the NET THRUST to see how many thrust movement points (TMPs) your rocket has, and how big a world it can land on. (emphasis added)
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
There it is... thanks muchly! :-)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Mesich
United States
Minneapolis
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Horta chortles.
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Been there, done that.

[Achievement Unlocked]
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls