Canada
Edmonton
Alberta
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Full Disclosure: I am a game designer and a handful of my designs are currently under consideration by Valley Games.

I recently had the opportunity to play a prototype of Reiner Knizia's Municipium at FallCon in Calgary. The game is currently available for pre-order from the publisher, Valley Games, and will likely be released sometime in 2008.

Most of you probably know the drill already: A new publisher crops up on our collective radar and, lo and behold, they have a brand new Reiner Knizia game in their upcoming catalog. No doubt they're flattered that ]one of the industry greats has chosen to bless their fledgling endeavor with his next amazing idea. Cue the angel chorus, because if it's Knizia it's got to be great, right?

Well, let's get one thing straight. Knizia is definitely a mover and a shaker in the industry and he's done some truly amazing games. Lost Cities and Through the Desert are favorites in my small collection, Tigris & Euphrates is one of BGG's highest ranked games, and no one can deny the genius he's brought to the Lord of the Rings license. But, with almost 250 games in the database, he's also got a lot of duds and guess where these usually end up... Well, count yourself five imaginary GeekGold richer if you answered "the new publishers."

Imagine my surprise, then, to find that Municipium is actually a remarkably solid game that I'm sure will eventually find its place within the upper echelons of the Knizia canon. I don't know what the Valley Games guys had to slip into the good doctor's tea in order to escape with this particular design but, whatever it was, it was well-worth it.