Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Hatten in Flames» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question on non-initial scenario victory rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Greg Schmittgens
United States
Wichita
Kansas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
THE BOTTOM LINE: What happens if the Germans don't win a German Assault? Is it a draw or an American victory?

HF 3.6204 defines the victory conditions for non-initial scenarios as follows:

German Assault: The Germans win at scenario end by Dominating (3.2) more Victory Hexes than they started with. (similar wording if it was an American Assault)

What happens if the Germans control the same number they started with? What happens if the Germans control fewer than they started with?

A logical approach could be a draw if the count is the same and an American victory if the Germans control fewer.

But 'logical' doesn't always work in ASL.

Any thoughts? (I haven't seen a FAQ for HF.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Klas Malmstrom
Sweden
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
In the absence of anything CG-rules-specific, I'd say A26.3 applies normally.

26.3 AVOIDANCE: Whenever the Victory Conditions of a scenario lists the Victory requirements for only one side, the other side wins by avoiding those Victory Conditions.


E.g., same thing in Red Barricades during a Dual Attack CG scenario:

Dual Attack: The Germans win if at scenario end they have amassed more VP than the Russians. Each side receives Casualty VP, and also receives one VP for each Stone Location that it currently Controls but that was Controlled by the opponent at scenario start.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg Schmittgens
United States
Wichita
Kansas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Makes sense. Kinda encourages the Germans to sit back when they've got their CG objectives (6 dominated hexes) but that'll work.

Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls