Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Nemesis» Forums » Rules

Subject: Fire Damage on players rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Domenic
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
badge
Would you ever really want to see an angel?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Page 10 of the rule book says:
Quote:

3: PLAYER ROUNDS
Starting with the first player and going clockwise, each player performs a round of 2 Actions. When each player has performed their round of 2 Actions (or passed their round), the next series of rounds takes place. Each player in order performs 2 Actions (or passes) – this takes place as long as there is at least one player who has not passed. When all players have passed, move to the Event Phase.If a player cannot perform any Actions, or chooses to take no Actions in their round, they must pass. If a player performs only 1 Action instead of the required two, they must pass. Any player who already passed cannot perform ANY Actions later during that Phase.When a player passes, they may discard any number of cards from their hand to their Discard. When you pass, flip your Help card to the “Pass” side to indicate this.Note: When a Character ends their round in a Room with a Fire marker, they always suffer 1 Light Wound – see Fire marker, page 17.
Taken literally, this says that each player takes a "round" of either performing 2 actions or passing until all players pass. Once a player has passed, they cannot take further actions (and thus must pass on every future round). This portion of the rules doesn't actually say that a players round is skipped once their Help card is pass-side up.

Page 17 clarifies:
Quote:

1) Every time a Character ends their round (each round!) in a Room with a Fire marker, this Character suffers 1 Light Wound.Remember that 1 round is 2 Actions of 1 Character (or 1 Action and pass, or simply pass).Important: Characters suffer Wounds from Fire only after they finished their round. If the Character passes, they suffer 1 Light Wound from Fire at the end of their round, but they won’t suffer any more Wounds from Fire this turn, even if other Characters play their round after them.
So after you pass, you don't have any more rounds - not even to pass. Fair enough.

From the rules in both parts of the rule book, it seems clear that you either take 2 actions or take fewer than 2 actions and pass. So taking 2 actions and passing isn't an option, correct?

Therefore, if you enter a room that's on fire and use your last action for the turn in the room, you'll have to take 2 fire damage: one for the round in which you performed 2 actions, and another one for the round you actually passed in. That seems like an easy nuance to miss, so I thought I'd check if other people were playing it that way.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Will
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That's correct.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel
United Kingdom
Kent
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You could use this to screw over another character as well.

Say you have the Captain, the Scientist and the Pilot. Everyone has 5 cards. The Captain is next to the fire control room. The Scientist is next to a room on fire. The Pilot is elsewhere. The Scientist goes into the room on fire and passes. He is expecting the Captain to go into the FC room and put out the fire. He takes one light wound. The Captain plays motivation to give the Pilot another card. Then he goes in the other direction, justifying it however he can. The Scientist might take another 2 light wounds, as the Pilot now has 6 cards and can possibly take 3 rounds to complete the Turn.

A bit far-fetched, but it's possible.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trevor Taylor
United Kingdom
FARINGDON
Oxfordshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hobbit_Hardcase wrote:
You could use this to screw over another character as well.

Say you have the Captain, the Scientist and the Pilot. Everyone has 5 cards. The Captain is next to the fire control room. The Scientist is next to a room on fire. The Pilot is elsewhere. The Scientist goes into the room on fire and passes. He is expecting the Captain to go into the FC room and put out the fire. He takes one light wound. The Captain plays motivation to give the Pilot another card. Then he goes in the other direction, justifying it however he can. The Scientist might take another 2 light wounds, as the Pilot now has 6 cards and can possibly take 3 rounds to complete the Turn.

A bit far-fetched, but it's possible.
No it's not. As the poster above stated.

dommer2029 wrote:

Page 17 clarifies:
Quote:

1) Every time a Character ends their round (each round!) in a Room with a Fire marker, this Character suffers 1 Light Wound.Remember that 1 round is 2 Actions of 1 Character (or 1 Action and pass, or simply pass).Important: Characters suffer Wounds from Fire only after they finished their round. If the Character passes, they suffer 1 Light Wound from Fire at the end of their round, but they won’t suffer any more Wounds from Fire this turn, even if other Characters play their round after them.
The scientist takes 1 light wound when he made his 2 actions and ended in fire. The next round he passes in the same room, taking a second light wound. But now he has passed, it doesn't matter how many more rounds occur with other players, that's HIS last round and so he doesn't take any more light wounds from the room fire.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel
United Kingdom
Kent
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
negatrev wrote:
The scientist takes 1 light wound when he made his 2 actions and ended in fire. The next round he passes in the same room, taking a second light wound. But now he has passed, it doesn't matter how many more rounds occur with other players, that's HIS last round and so he doesn't take any more light wounds from the room fire.
Darn, I thought I'd found something sneaky. whistle
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls