Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Shadows of Brimstone: City of the Ancients» Forums » Rules

Subject: Flag of the fallen rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
KingRalph KingRalph
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
Flag of the fallen says OPA you may cancel D3 growing Dread or Darkness cards in play (Any Mix). Until used all heroes may heal 1 health or 1 sanity at the end of every turn.

We have 4 heroes and two allies in the party. Does this mean he would get 25xp every turn(assuming they all need healing? Seems crazy.
Does it count for healing allies (I assume so but just wanted clarification)
Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Angelus Seniores
Belgium
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
A good question, would it be considered direct healing and give xp or indirect healing?

That being said, i feel there are enough turns that some/most heroes dont need healing at all so the healing xp will not be maxed out most of the time.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Weaver
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
A couple of our posses have the Flag. We do let it heal allies (since they "count as heroes" except for a few specific instances, and this type of healing isn't one of them).

We could not find a rule about the XP part of your question. We agreed that the person carrying the flag does not gain XP.

-Michael
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jee Fu
United States
Iowa
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
RAW the flag bearer would get XP yes. IMO that item is kinda broken; right up there with the Outlaw Gun belt and the Void Lantern (although in certain missions ...). Either way, there isn’t any mechanical reason to suspect that the owner of a healing mechanic doesn’t get the XP for employing it. There is no mention of multiple types of healing, delineated by “directness” or indirectness”. If a Hero employs an Item or Ability to heal another Hero’s wounds or sanity damage, then they get XP for it. This situation is no more passive than a Saloon Girl’s ability and you would agree that she gets XP for that, yes?

And yes it would work on Allies.

- Jee

EDIT: it’s possible there exists some devil in the details of how things are worded. “Heal X from Y” is a slightly different wording than “each Hero may Heal” - the former is much more assertive, and implies an actor other than the healer. The later does not. I would need to check out many, many other examples of healing mechanics to explore this properly.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls