GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
8,928 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
18 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Arkham Horror» Forums » Rules

Subject: Combat Successes vs. GOO rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Erik Nicely
United States
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I have a question about the final battle with the GOO. When I make combat checks is the entire combat check (all dice rolled in combat from one investigator) one success or one failure like it is in standard combat or do I total up the number of successes rolled to subtract doom tokens from the GOO? For instance if in a 2 player game one investigator rolls 5 successes does that count as 2 1/2 doom tokens being removed from the GOO's card? Or is it one-half of a doom tokens worth of damage? I'm not quite sure how it's played.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tommy Dean
Australia
Earlwood
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You get to keep the "extras". So with 2 players...a 5 hit roll would indeed be 2 doom tokens removed...and 1 success towards the third.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Erik Nicely
United States
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Excellent. Thanks for the reply.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Anders Buch
Denmark
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
ozjesting wrote:
You get to keep the "extras". So with 2 players...a 5 hit roll would indeed be 2 doom tokens removed...and 1 success towards the third.


I was wondering which rule to use: The one from the revised Arkham Horror rulebook or the one from the FAQ?

Because In the main rule book the success counter is "reset" after calculating damage to the old one.
That means that a 5 hit in 2 player game would remove 2 doom tokens, and then reset the counter, NOT carrying the 1 extra over?
In the FAQ the one is carried over.

What is the right rule?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
michael dorazio
United States
Tyngsboro
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It seems that the damage is carried over according to the newest FAQ info. So that's what I use.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.