Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Joshua Howell
United States
Florida
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
Flotilla began as a failed design experiment. If you’re not familiar with my work as a designer, I frequently push the boundaries on what established mechanics can support in gaming. It’s my joy in design to create something new or reinvent something known in a new way, without the mechanism losing its familiarity for players. So experimentation with mechanisms is a thing I do regularly. And it regularly goes nowhere. This one almost went nowhere, but thankfully brilliant people exist in this industry to give it life.

I had an idea for a game that was radical in its approach to ‘emerging strategies’. Making a good game with emerging strategies is already highly challenging (few published games do this well IMO), but this time I wanted to set a whole new bar. I wanted to create the single most important individual decision in a game experience, you know entry level stuff. The idea had the following goals:

1 – Support two similar, parallel games (Game A and B going forward) that utilize the exact same components together in the same game (I always used Alhambra and Carcassonne as my example when explaining it – they are two city building games with square tiles so they have a natural parallel. Now imagine a game where both exist together – you play Alhambra for a time then shift to playing Carcassonne within the same game using the same tiles.)

2 – Have all players start each game playing Game A and allow each to shift to Game B at their leisure. This supports strategies entirely in Game A, entirely in Game B or a blend of both.

3 – When you shift from Game A to Game B you scoop your play area and use those components to play Game B. The idea is one set of components equally supports both games and once you turn you stay in Game 2 the rest of the game.