Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Shadows of Brimstone: City of the Ancients» Forums » Rules

Subject: Is a "Jacket" a "Coat" rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chadwick VonVeederVeld
United States
Rapid City
South Dakota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
FoFo question....
at the tavern, outlaws can get a tattoo on their arm,
the clothing slot listed is "jacket" ....
is this supposed to be "coat"?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
A. Hominy Grit
United States
Toms River
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Are you wondering if you can wear both a jacket and a coat at the same time? I'm pretty sure they are the same thing and use up the same clothing slot. In other words you can only wear either or.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chadwick VonVeederVeld
United States
Rapid City
South Dakota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
Yes, I was wondering if they were the same slot...

its under Tattoos at the Tavern and says

"as long as that tattoo slot is not covered with a clothing item...."

and then lists tattoo slots as face, torso, jacket, gloves, & pants

I have never seen a "jacket" item before, so I was wondering if it was meant to be "coat"

which I believe it is....
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas White
United States
Pacific Grove
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
"Jacket is a coat" is where my group landed as well, until we see a more official ruling.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J. Simcoe
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I agree, I don't think I have ever seen a clothing item with the keyword "jacket", its always "coat". Then again shouldn't the chest and back slots have the "coat/jacket" keyword restriction? As is, you can wear something like a Trederran Field Jacket or Duster, which clearly covers your chest and back and still get the bonus!

Thinking about it, I am actually wondering wether its not so much that you don't get the bonus IF the Tattoo is covered, more you don't the bonus if its covered by those specific items (maybe there is something with the keyword "jacket" that they have not published yet), in other words its okay to wear a coat and still get the bonus but not armor (which is usually keyword "torso") for example.

That makes more sense, but as usual its a bit confusing with the wording they used and probably needs clarification.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Turner
United States
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Maybe it's a sin to think thematically, but it seems that the tattoo doesn't give its bonus if it's covered, so a clothing item that covers it would block it. Coats and jackets cover the same area of the body, for the most part, so the tattoo would be covered in the coat slot if you wore a jacket.

It just seems to make sense to me.

If I were running an RPG and a player said, "But this isn't a jacket, it's a COAT!" I would probably roll my eyes so hard my head would come off.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Graham Martin
United States
Ellicott City
MD
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Overheard at next session: "I'll pay you $1000 for that vest!"
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Njorl
United States
Rhode Island
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As far as interoperability goes with both items; I think even some of the heroes/minis have coats over jackets, but it probably makes sense that you can't combine effects. Also it's very common in movies for an old west character to have a jacket and coat.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Neil Edmonds
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Do you need more card ideas for the D&D Adventure System games?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Time for some Shallow Gravy (Venture Brothers)!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3MExgf6mwdU
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls