Riccardo Masini
Italy
Rome
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi!
Just a quick question regarding amphibious assaults (they are a bit tricky to understand...).
Situation: I have an area with 2 Japanese INF and 1 US INF. I also have 2 US INF in an adjacent area ready to intervene.
Now, as per the last clarification, I have two options:

1) MOVE The 2 US INF and then ATTACK togeHer with the other INF.
2) AMPHIB directly with the 2 INF and possible naval support. In this case, can the other 1 INF already “on the ground” participate in the amphibious attack? Or is this a separate action, reserved just to the 2 INF?

Thank you!

Riccardo
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Karl Bown
United Kingdom
Lincoln
Lincolnshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
From the errata file

6.2 (Clarification) There may be times when there will be INF units in an area still containing enemy INF after an amphibious attack. You may use a “Move” action to bring in additional INF to that area, even though technically neither side controls the area, assuming no enemy Fleets are barring such a move. This is an exception to the restriction on moving INF to an uncontrolled area.
Additionally, to conduct a further attack against an area containing INF from both sides, you have two options. You may (possibly) move in more INF per the paragraph above, and simply use an ATTACK option. Alternately, you can AMPHIB it again, which (possibly) allows you to have Naval gunfire and/or tactical air support. Notice that you do not get Naval gunfire or tactical air support with just an ATTACK option, an AMPHIB action is required to get them involved. You are not required (but will probably want) to bring in more INF with such an AMPHIB – just using it for the attack allows the already present INF to get support.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Karl Bown
United Kingdom
Lincoln
Lincolnshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We played it that if you AMPHIB more guys in, the existing ones also roll, which is implied above.

But AMPHIB actions are quite scarce, so MOVE then ATTACK might be a better use of a card
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Riccardo Masini
Italy
Rome
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Allright, thanks!
Actually an AMPHIB could be a good choice if you want to attack an enemy right away, before he gets the possibility of reinforcing his troops through actions or cards. Also, you get the Naval/Air support you wouldn't get with a conventional ATTACK.
However, it is highly situational, depending also on the cards you have in your hand.
So many possibilities and decisions in such a light game!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Karl Bown
United Kingdom
Lincoln
Lincolnshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Agreed, lots of decisions to make
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gregory Smith
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hey Riccardo,

The INF that is already there gets to help. The only question is whether you want to use a precious AMPHIB so you can have naval gunfire support or whether a normal ATTACK will do the job.

Cheers, Greg
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.