Subject: No Linux support? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Andrew Jones
Canada
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I've got this game on preorder and in my excitement of it arriving this week I just checked out the app on steam and noticed there is no linux support! Is this typical for FFG games? I've never owner an app-based game before but when I heard they would have a client on steam I guess I just assumed they would have linux support.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mikkel Øberg
Denmark
Gundsømagle
flag msg tools
badge
Ahh, you found me... Run!
mbmbmbmbmb
I must admit I have never heard of a FFG-product having Linux-support. Lnix is, however wonderful a system it may be, still a tiny part of the private average-consumer computer market and as such no app. Liekwise with for instance Windows Phone, no app either.

And just to be clear, I'm not trying to start a discussion on the merits of Linux - I used to be a systems administrator running linux and fully acknowledge the greatness of the system.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Leighton
England
Peterborough
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
But the apps don't really do anything really sophisticated do they?
I am not sure how they implement the apps on the phone side but for desktop surely they could be easily implemented in js/html and packaged as an Electron application which could easily produce versions for all three main desktop systems.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Thompson
United States
Homewood
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Java?

But seriously... as someone mentioned Linux is not popular, and FFG is not a software company. I doubt FFG wants to spend any effort supporting an application of any kind, but at least they can control the complexity by limiting the application for deployment to a small subset of systems. If they are going to limit the number of systems, I agree they should maximize the overall coverage.