Popular Tags: [View All]
Caroline Black
United Kingdom
Braintree
Essex
flag msg tools
Tigger playing Agricola. He lost!
mbmbmbmbmb
I am new to this hobby but have found it really difficult to buy the games I want. I research them on line. Watch runs throughs. Then find they are unavailable or really expensive to obtain.

It wasn’t so much of a problem at the beginning as there were multiple games I wanted so I could just buy a different game. But now none of the games on my wish list seem available.

How do you buy your games? Seek them out on eBay or wait for a reprint? Also some games don’t seem to be available in the UK like Sprawlopolis
I have tried popping into FLGS when I come across them in the hope I’ll find Macao or Ginkgopolis. But haven’t been lucky so far.

Ordered a couple of reprints Snowdonia: Deluxe Master Set and Key Market: Second edition on Kickstarter but then you have to wait months for them.

Also new games like Museum seem difficult to obtain retail with limited information about availability. It’s quite frustrating but I guess you get a great sense of satisfaction when you do track down a game. I’ve done this by mainly buying via BGG.

It seems an odd market. Do the game manufacturers deliberately restrict demand to build hype or is it a function of being a niche hobby? It seems like manufacturers are leaving money on the table and eBayers are taking advantage by charging inflated prices. This gives a sense of FOMO which might tip you into buying a game you will later regret buying.

However, on the plus side there does seem to be a healthy second hand market to get rid of any mistakes.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brendan Slade
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Usually buy them through online game store retailers. Generally one of them will have the game I am looking for and $10 postage isn't too bad.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James
United Kingdom
Weston-super-Mare
Somerset
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb