Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Field Commander: Napoleon» Forums » General

Subject: Modifiers rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Matthew Varney
Australia
flag msg tools
When a Battle Plan has an attack modifier of say +4/+0 can someone explain why there is a forward slash and another number. What is the second number for in modifier of say +4/+4. What do both of the numbers mean?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian van Someren
Netherlands
Groningen
Groningen
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The second number modifies the superscript combat value of the unit (i.e. the number which gives you 2 successes when rolled).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Varney
Australia
flag msg tools
Can you give me an example?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian van Someren
Netherlands
Groningen
Groningen
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Cavalry units have a combat value, plus a superscript combat value. When you add a modifier, the first number is added to the base combat value, the second number is added to the superscript.

So, a 6_3 Cavalry unit with a +4/+4 modifier becomes a 10_7 unit. This means that they will score 1 hit on a roll of 10 or less, and 2 hits on a roll of 7 or less.

If a unit does not have a superscript combat value originally (i.e. infantry units), they would now gain one.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mayor Jim
United States
Fort Wright
Kentucky
flag msg tools
badge
Vote Often!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Christianv wrote:


If a unit does not have a superscript combat value originally (i.e. infantry units), they would now gain one.


...”they would now gain...” a superscript, for a total of 4 as per the example.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mayor Jim
United States
Fort Wright
Kentucky
flag msg tools
badge
Vote Often!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
hagshollow wrote:
When a Battle Plan has an attack modifier of say +4/+0 can someone explain why there is a forward slash and another number. What is the second number for in modifier of say +4/+4. What do both of the numbers mean?

This question should be in the rules forum I believe, not general...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.