Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Fields of Fire» Forums » Rules

Subject: Radio/phone transitivity and SCR536 usefulness rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jim Cote
United States
Maine
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1) If CO HQ has LOS to, say, CO XO on the same card as a team, and the CO and XO both have radios, can the CO HQ give a command to that team?

2) What is the practical usefulness of the SCR536 if HQ's must not be in cover, and hence the units they command must also not be in cover? It seems if you choose this communication option that your entire company is basically out in the open for the entire mission.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy B
United States
Westerville
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
2) What is the practical usefulness of the SCR536 if HQ's must not be in cover, and hence the units they command must also not be in cover? It seems if you choose this communication option that your entire company is basically out in the open for the entire mission.


I’ve believe that having the choice between using phones or radios simply adds the variety of challenges. There’s some challenge to using either one. I love that.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jur Snijder
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Remaining under cover is indeed a handicap when it comes to communication. Especially when attacking this is problematic because units need orders to move. I think the situation does reflect the reality that moving troops are often exposed and vulnerable to enemy fire.

Being under cover is much more appropriate when defending, and because our troops don't need orders to open fire they can function in defense even when not in direct communication with their officers.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marc Wuthe
Germany
Pfungstadt-Eschollbrücken
Hessen
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Jim!
You’re right. The SCR536 is really a challenge to use. But you don’t need phone lines and in case of enemy artillery barrages which can destroy your line of communication this is a benefit. But in WWII and also Korea the good old phone lines can be handled most of the time better IMO and communication to your troops is more stable. But you have to plan where to lay the lines so everyone is in communication till the objective or how it fits to your tactics.

In Vietnam you will realize how great radios truly can be because there you nearly have total freedom to communicate with radios.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Keeler
Germany
Mittelbrunn
Rhineland-Palatinate
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmb
Your first question is whether the CO HQ can issue a command to a team that is on another card with the XO who has a radio that is in contact with CO HQ. The answer to that is no. The CO HQ is in contact with the XO; not with the team that shares the card with the XO. If the CO HQ wants that team to do something, then the CO HQ may spend a command to activate the XO. The XO will then spend a command to order the team during the XO's impulse phase. Or, the XO can use the one command it gets when not activated or a saved command. The bottom line is that the CO HQ cannot directly order a team on another card, even if the team shares the card with a command team that is in contact with the CO HQ. The command element on the card will need to order the team with one its own commands during its activation/impulse phase.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marc Wuthe
Germany
Pfungstadt-Eschollbrücken
Hessen
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In this context perhaps it’s important to mention that the XO and the squad or whatever unit don’t form a „team“ to which you give commands. In FoF you may attach certain units but that’s something else.
You give commands to subordinate units or HQs to perform or give commands in turns. The terminus „team“ is only used when speaking of Weapon Teams, FO teams or LATs.

Further as a matter of fact when in communication with the subordinate unit, the CO HQ can give directly commands to that unit. But they have to be in communication as mentioned before. You cannot command just because there’s a XO or HQ with a radio/phone beneath the unit.

E.g. a CO HQ with a Radio/Phone could command a squad which is in possession of a radio/phone itself on an adjacent card directly.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.